B.I.S.S. Sandwich Contest - Smokey Seitan Deli Slices On Home Made Buns

DSC_6124.jpg

This is my post for @mondoshawan's sandwich contest. I think I missed the last one but I see that more people should join in on this one before the month is up.

Today I present yet another plant based sandwich to the show. I know traditionally the contest is full of meaty stacked up sandwiches. It's just that I eat a plant based diet.

I have, made a faux meaty representation of a meaty sandwich using wheat gluten. This was used as far back as the 6th century by Buddhists who ate a vegetarian diet. This was a meaty substitute.

Although I don't believe it is something that should be consumed regularly, I do enjoy it's texture and the ability to absorb flavors.

DSC_6051.jpg

I kind of experiment every time I make this, using a different variation of ingredients. This time I flavored it more before I cooked it.

Deli wheat meat from seitan (My ingredients are approximate)

3 cups vital wheat gluten
1 cup chickpea flour
1 cup water
2 tablespoons veggie soup powder
1 teaspoon liquid smoke
1 teaspoon sage
1 teaspoon thyme
1 tablespoon garlic powder
1tablespoon onion powder
1 teaspoon smoked paprika
1 teaspoon black pepper
2 tablespoons salt
1 tablespoon maple syrup or agave (optional)
1 teaspoon liquid smoke

Mix the ingredients together. I used a small food processor to mix it but I had to do it in small amounts. You can mix by hand as well.

DSC_6055.jpg

I ended up adding a little more water to make it dough like so I could knead it. I spent a bit of time kneading and stretching.

DSC_6067.jpg

I got it into a loaf shape eventually and boiled it in vegetable broth. This time I made a vegetable broth which I try to have on hand at all times. It really is easy to do and it's good to have on hand.

DSC_6048.jpg

The very basic vegetable soup broth is made using celery, carrots, onion, garlic, parsley, peppercorns and bay leaves. Put some oil in a pot, heat it, add the ingredients roughly chopped, some salt, cover well with water and bring to a boil. You don't have to fuss. Turn it to a simmer and walk away. After 45 minutes to an hour strain it and you have a basic vegetable broth. You could add other veggies that are in your fridge as well. Don't throw away your wilted veggies.

I put the seitan in a pot covered it with the broth, brought it to a boil, then simmered for around 45 mutes to an hour. I didn't time it because I am a hacker. I have hacked my way through life. It's worked out so far.

DSC_6068.jpg

After it was cooked, I took the seitan loaf out of the broth, let it cool a bit then sliced it.

DSC_6080.jpg

The slices would now be cooked in more broth and extra items, such as onion and garlic.

DSC_6087.jpg

After the onion and garlic were cooked in a shallow pan, I added the sliced seitan, added bay leaves, peppercorns, salt and a few tablespoons of soy sauce.

DSC_6097.jpg
Meanwhile I had already prepared a dough for the buns that would house the seitan.

DSC_6017.jpg

I don't consider myself a baker but I have to say, if you have the time to bake your own bread, it can be satisfying. I have much to discover in this area.

DSC_6021.jpg

Buns
3 1/2 cups flour
1 1/2 teaspoons salt
2 teaspoons instant yeast
1 1/ 4 cups warm water
2 tablespoons vegan butter or shortening
4 teaspoons sugar

I first put the yeast, sugar and warm water together in a bowl then put it in the oven that was off. I put a pot of steaming hot water in the oven to make a makeshift proofer. If you live in a hot climate you don't need to do this.

I checked it after twenty minutes or so and it was bubbly so I took it out and added the flour and the rest of the ingredients. After mixing it I kneaded it by hand as long as I could stand it.

DSC_6028.jpg

After proofing the dough in my makeshift proofer oven, I let it rise then cut it into pieces. I rolled each piece then put it back to proof once more.

DSC_6034.jpg

It was forgotten for quite a while like over an hour. I finally took it out and turned the oven to 400F. I brushed the buns with water then sprinkled sesame seeds on them. I bake the buns for around fifteen minutes changing them from the top rack to the bottom then turning the oven down to 300 for five minutes or so. I didn't really know what I was doing but it worked out.

DSC_6036.jpg

It was finally time to assemble the sandwich. I started with vegan mayo which I had made a while back.

DSC_6109.jpg

Than the classic grainy dijon mustard.

DSC_6112.jpg

I love red onion on a sandwich so in it went. Cucumbers also begged me to add them in so in they went.

DSC_6115.jpg

I had some chipotle mayo that I had made, I added that for some kick. And of course the sliced seitan.

DSC_6120.jpg

After all that it was not enough. I needed to pile on some lettuce and arugula because I need my greens.

DSC_6142.jpg

DSC_6161.jpg

DSC_6172.jpg

DSC_6166.jpg

Will you guys be joining in for some sandwich fun. You still have time for the month of March.

Thanks for stopping by!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
25 Comments
Ecency