My boring birthday //The making of My birthday dress that I didn't wear

Hello beautiful people on hive

IMG_20221009_141049.jpg

It's my birthday today and I appreciate God for the gift of life,for sound health and lovely people around me.

As my birthday was fast approaching, I never thought of celebrating it in a big way as most of my friends are out of town and others were engaged in their daily job though today was a public holiday but I only have few friends Who were home today for the public holiday. As I wasn't ready to celebrate this in a grand way, I didn't prepare or plan for it, I was not with any money to make outfit for myself, I just thought of staying in door all by myself, even when monica-ene insisted that I should come to her house so we could celebrate together, I declined because I didn't want to bother her, I know the kind of person she is, as soon as I get there, she will start putting things together just to make my day a beautiful and remarkable one.

Yesterday, I received a call from a friend who offered to take me out today, I told him I didn't prepare for anything but he insisted so I agreed because he was supposed to come pick me up and bring me home.

I remembered I had a fabric for a very long time which I wanted to sew a bubu style with, so I picked it up and began to sew this stylish dress. I made it to wear it out with my friend but when I showed it to @monica-ene, she laughed as it looks funny to her that what kind of birthday dress is this, that made me lose interest in the dress because I didn't really plan for anything 😀😀😀😀😀😀.

The making

The fabric was folded in four to cut the front and back together after which I piped the neckline with a bias tape and at the front, I held in ½" straight downward

IMG_20221008_105213.jpg

IMG_20221008_094457.jpg

I cut out a strip to make a belt on the wrong side to give the dress a nice shape if I so wish just on the under bust, I measured quarter of my waist circumference to the left and right from the middle.

IMG_20221008_114659.jpg

I made a long rope using a bias tape then I inserted it in the loop I made and sew it at the hem.

IMG_20221008_114659.jpg

IMG_20221008_115501.jpg
Finally, the front and back were sewn together with ½" side seam allowance and I have this stylish bubu gown for myself.

The rope can be released to make the gown free or dragged up to make side ruffles, whichever way I so desired it

IMG_20221009_141049.jpg

Though I love what I made but not for my birthday anymore. Unfortunately, before the schedule time to go out, there was a heavy downpour of rain which finally stopped me from going out and wearing my dress even if I had wanted to wear it.

My birthday was just celebrated indoor all alone by myself.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now