Travel the World of Postage Stamps - Birds are the protector of the forest - Barn Owl (Tyto alba) - USSR, Soviet Union 1979 - Michel USSR 4886 - my hobby

Travel the World of Postage Stamps - Birds are the protector of the forest - Barn Owl (Tyto alba) - USSR, Soviet Union 1979 - Michel USSR 4886 - my hobby.

20210215091144.jpg

Greetings friends!

We continue our journey through the world of postage stamps and have one mission to complete - We have to complete a series of Birds are the protector of the forest stamps issued in 1979 in the country where. today, does not exist in the USSR.

We have already installed three postage stamps in the slots of our stockbook and it's time to consider the fourth postage stamp from this series, which received a denomination of 10 kopecks of the USSR, which depicts - Barn Owl (Tyto alba).

It is a nocturnal predator that unmistakably finds rodents in the silence of the night.

Although the habitat of these birds excludes Ukraine, where I live, but once, while picking mushrooms, I saw her sitting on a tree branch.

The bad news is that at that moment I did not set myself the goal of taking photographs, I did not take a camera with me, I picked mushrooms, and that was my goal.

Usually, when I go to the forest, I set priorities, either, this is a quiet mushroom hunt, or, this is photography, otherwise, one of the other is stealing precious time.

DSC01914.JPG

I am very difficult to see, she sits motionless and you have a chance to notice her if she turns her white muzzle towards you.

With a high probability, if Barn Owl looks in the opposite direction from you, you will pass by.

DSC07160.JPG

After that incident, visiting the forest, I gaze intently at the crowns of trees, hoping to see 3s, but this bird is apparently inaccessible to me.

I found the closest relatives of Barn Owl, Athene, they even settled in the ventilation shaft of my house under construction, but Barn Owl, I never met again.

DSC07161.JPG

Not surprisingly, this bird made it to the postage stamp from Series Birds are the protector of the forest, as it is very beneficial in clearing the forest of rodents, which can carry many diseases. The circulation of this postage stamp is 6. 6,200,000 copies.

Let's take a look at this postage stamp.

Description of the postage stamp:

Type: Postage Stamp.
Country: USSR, Soviet Union.
Subject: #Birds, #Animals, #Nature, #Fauna, #USSR.
Series: Birds are the protector of the forest.
Name: Barn Owl (Tyto alba).
Denomination of a postage stamp: 10 USSR kopek.
Michel's USSR catalog code: 4886.
Episode release date: September 18, 1979.
Perforation: comb 12½ x 12¼.
Postage stamp size: 52 x 37 mm.
Printing technology: Offset lithography.
Circulation: 6,200,000.
Estimated price for a clean postage stamp: $ 0.18 - $ 0.33.
Estimated price for a canceled postage stamp: $ 0.09 - $ 0.18.
Photo: original from @barski collection.

Clean postage stamp

DSC05763.JPG

Previous postage stamp from this series and a link to its description:

Type: Postage Stamp.
Country: USSR, Soviet Union.
Subject: #Birds, #Animals, #Nature, #Fauna, #USSR.
Series: Birds are the protector of the forest.
Name: Crested Tit (Lophophanes cristatus).
Denomination of a postage stamp: 4 USSR kopek.
Michel's USSR catalog code: 4885.
Episode release date: September 18, 1979.
Perforation: comb 12½ x 12¼.
Postage stamp size: 52 x 37 mm.
Printing technology: Offset lithography.
Circulation: 8,800,000.
Estimated price for a clean postage stamp: $ 0.10 - $ 0.24.
Estimated price for a canceled postage stamp: $ 0.05 - $ 0.13.
Photo: original from @barski collection.

Clean postage stamp

DSC05527.JPG

Previous postage stamp from this series and a link to its description:

Type: Postage Stamp.
Country: USSR, Soviet Union.
Subject: #Birds, #Animals, #Nature, #Fauna, #USSR.
Series: Birds are the protector of the forest.
Name: Lesser Spotted Woodpecker (Dendrocopos minor).
Denomination of a postage stamp: 3 USSR kopek.
Michel's USSR catalog code: 4884.
Episode release date: September 18, 1979.
Perforation: comb 12½ x 12¼.
Postage stamp size: 52 x 37 mm.
Printing technology: Offset lithography.
Circulation: 9,200,000.
Estimated price for a clean postage stamp: $ 0.10 - $ 0.24.
Estimated price for a canceled postage stamp: $ 0.05 - $ 0.13.
Photo: original from @barski collection.

Clean postage stamp

DSC05762.JPG

Previous postage stamp from this series and a link to its description:

Type: Postage Stamp.
Country: USSR, Soviet Union.
Subject: #Birds, #Animals, #Nature, #Fauna, #USSR.
Series: Birds are the protector of the forest.
Name: Golden Oriole (Oriolus oriolus).
Denomination of a postage stamp: 2 USSR kopek.
Michel's USSR catalog code: 4883.
Episode release date: September 18, 1979.
Perforation: comb 12½ x 12¼.
Postage stamp size: 52 x 37 mm.
Printing technology: Offset lithography.
Circulation: 9,600,000.
Estimated price for a clean postage stamp: $ 0.10 - $ 0.24.
Estimated price for a canceled postage stamp: $ 0.05 - $ 0.13.
Photo: original from @barski collection.

Clean postage stamp

DSC05764.JPG

To be continued.

20191022121659.jpg

You can see the development of the story of my postage stamp collection on my Leofinance blog

I edited a photo in the program PhotoDirector, which I also installed on my smartphone.

Author @barski
Ukraine

For my publications, I do not use stock photographs, it is fundamentally important for me to use photographs that I have made with my own hands for publication and I can name them - authorial work.

You can go to our blog on the Hive platform by clicking on the bee.

bEEEEEEE.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
1 Comment
Ecency