Just play the damn game!!

Just play the damn game!!

This may not be a popular viewpoint or a post. I am comfortable with that. This is not going to a rant either, as I do not do rant. I like to keep things simple. I play Splinterlands because I like to play the game. I play everyday. I am not a good player, I am about average. However, I am playing this game for a long time, so perhaps I can offer some game related experience, just because of the length of time I am here. People who are playing the game too much, the scholars, I like to say, take a bit of a break from the game from time to time, and enjoy some free time. People who were good players once, and now given their account to a bot, I like to say, maybe may manual once in a while and keep practice. Otherwise, some day, during a face-to-face tournament, when you will get thumped by a 13 year old Asian kid, you will feel quite bad as an old fart (I am old, so I am comfortable in saying that!). You see, it is all about balance.

image.png

I have multiple scholars (players who play my delegated decks), and majority of my cards are delegated to them. So my personal account doesn't have a lot of the key cards. In particular I don't have the beta cards. I still play Wild without them for a long time, but lately I got tired of losing Wild games and the amount of effort it takes to move this account to Champions without the beta cards, have been overwhelming. Therefore, I have decided to purchase a few beta cards. Most of the betas you are seeing above is something I have purchsed yesterday. There are still some rentals, but renting is a involved process and requires a lot of time. So yesterday, I just given up and purchased a few of the cards again!

I am still renting about 3200 DEC/day worth of cards for myself (cards that I already own, but have them delegated!) That is less than $3/day (at current prices, slightly more than $3 at peg prices). Trouble is, if I buy those cards, it will cost me about $9,000 today! So, if I do a simple calculation (and simplicity is wrong I am told), and assume rental is the best form of ROI, then it would take me $9000/$3 = 3000 days to breakeven!! So, please tell me ladies and gentlemen, why will people buy these expensive beta cards? I don't know about you, but in 8 years time, this game will likely look completely different or will not exist.

I bought them because I love to play them. However, in terms of ROI, there is no reason to buy expensive beta cards at these prices.

Do we complain too much?

Yes, we do! Last few days if you peek into the Maverick channel you will know what I mean. Everyone have an opinions and they all think their way is the RIGHT WAY. They all think game is getting ruined because game makers are not following their perfect plan! To this I have something to offer to those Mavericks:

“Everyone has a plan until they get punched in the mouth.”

image.png

source

I would also like to add that everyone is a warrior behind the keyboard. When I meet most of you in the real world, you all seem nice and quite timid :)

This is a round about way of saying. Yes, you all have opinions and you are entitled to them. But please stop pushing your agenda too hard in every direction (because then there will be no net movement).Also please consider getting off of discord a little bit if you can. It is fall in the northern hemisphere, weather is hopefully nice. Get out there and have some fun please. When you are done, consider playing some Splinterlands yourself, by hand, hopefully using a mouse and keyboard. You will see that you are contributing and having fun! This is a good game, and it is here to stay.

image.png

https://soundcloud.com/splinterlands/the-splinterlands?si=c5533244312f483ca0e23fc0b6bdaf13&utm_source=clipboard&utm_medium=text&utm_campaign=social_sharing

The Splinterlands

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
70 Comments
Ecency