Today I am the spirit of my grandmother - Yearning for Iruya (Cover)

Hoy en honor al espíritu de mi abuela.


image.png


English

My grandmother transcended and joined the long list of victims of the Covid-19. A painful loss for me, that although I perceive death as a liberation, I still feel a void in my chest. Not being able to physically say goodbye to her was the most difficult thing, but I was always preparing myself for this day. I knew that she didn't have much strength anymore and that for sure she was walking through life as if she had days to spare. Every time I went for a short time to Cumaná, to the town where she lived, I tried to stop by the house where she was, and thus see her, talk to her, knowing that this could be the last time, and this time it was.

Old people, when they have no inheritance, rarely get the treatment they deserve when they fall into bed. One of my motivations for wanting to pursue a professional career was to be able to earn enough money (as if that would solve the daily grind of life), to take away the worries of my father and grandmother, who after a fall could never return to their little beach house. Time, which is cruel to its children, today told us all that we only have the present to live, and for me this only means that I must be grateful for what it has been so that today it is.

Today although I do not have a voice, nor do I feel like expressing myself, I am going to sing a song in her honor and in honor of her spirit, always making my best attempt to honor the memory of what she was, the learning she left me. As I told you some time ago, "I am all the grandmothers that preceded me" and today especially "I am the spirit of my grandmother Rosa".

My grandmother taught me that love is not in material riches, but in those of the spirit. Sharing from the heart is something normal in those little towns on the coast. They are happy because what we need is always less than what we think and today I am grateful to have had such loving teachers.

"Yearning for Iruya" is a cover written by Perota Chingó. I don't know anything about the song, but I have to assume that the song is written for the people of Iruya in Argentina. A song directed to the simplicity of those magical places that I connect my favorite place as a child, my grandmother's house in "La Angoleta". A fishing village that only has about 200 houses. I loved going there, I loved the fruit ice creams that my grandmother sold, the Cambur(banana) milkshakes that she took to me when my mother was sleeping so that she would not notice, the little Creole eggs that she wrapped in newspaper so that they would not break on the return trip, the unripe plantain arepas in the shape of little purple flowers and the money that she always tooks from what my father left him before we left and she told me "keep this, mija, so that you can buy the snack, don't tell your father"...

I treasure these moments, and thinking about them I live them again. I can remember their colors, aromas and feelings, that way I know that what I lived was beautiful and by listening to this song I have been able to travel there. I hope you like it. A hug and lots of love to everyone. Kuami Kiachi!

Español

Mi abuela trascendió y se sumo a la larga lista de victimas del Covid-19. Una perdida dolorosa para mi, que aunque percibo la muerte como liberación, igual siento un vacío en mi pecho. No haber podido despedirme físicamente de ella fue lo mas difícil, pero siempre estuve preparándome para este día, sabia que ella no tenia muchas fuerzas ya y que de seguro andaba por la vida como si le sobraran los días. Cada vez que iba por corto tiempo a Cumaná, al pueblo donde vivía, trataba de pasar por la casa donde ella estaba, y así verla, hablar con ella, sabiendo que esa podría ser la ultima vez, y en esta ocasión así fue.

Los viejitos cuando no tienen patrimonio que heredar, rara vez obtienen el trato que merecen al caer en cama. Una de mis motivaciones al querer cursar una carrera profesional era la de poder ganar suficiente dinero (como si eso solucionara la cotidianidad de la vida), para quitarles las preocupaciones a mi padre y a mi abuela, que después de una caída jamas pudo regresar a su casita en la playa. El tiempo quien es cruel con sus hijos, hoy nos dijo a todos que solo tenemos el presente para vivir, y para mi esto significa solo que debo agradecer lo que ha sido para que hoy sea.

Hoy aunque no tengo voz, ni ganas de expresarme, voy entonar una canción en su honor y en honor a su espíritu, siempre haciendo mi mejor intento de honrar la memoria de lo que fue, el aprendizaje que me dejó. como les dije hace un tiempo, "Soy todas las abuelas que me preceden" y hoy en especial "Soy el espíritu de mi abuela Rosa".

Mi abuela me enseño que el amor no esta en las riquezas materiales, sino en las del espíritu. Compartir de corazón es algo normal en esos pueblitos de la costa. Son felices porque lo que necesitamos es siempre menos de lo que pensamos y hoy agradezco haber tenido a tan amorosos maestros.

"Anhelando Iruya" es un cover escrito por Perota Chingó. No se nada acerca de la canción, pero he de suponer que la canción esta escrita para el pueblo de Iruya en Argentina. Una canción dirigida a la simpleza de esos mágicos lugares que yo conecto mi lugar preferido de niña, la casa de mi abuela en "La Angoleta". Un pueblo de pescadores que solo tiene unas 200 casas. Amaba ir, amaba los helados de frutas que mi abuela vendía, los batidos de Cambur(banana) con leche que me llevaba cuando mi mama dormía para que no se diera cuenta, los huevitos criollos que me envolvía en papel de periódico para que no se me rompieran en el viaje de regreso, las arepas de platano verde en forma de florecitas moradas y el dinerito que siempre sacaba de lo que mi padre le dejaba antes de irnos y me decía <"Guarde esto mija, pa´ que compre la merienda, no le digas a tu papa">.

Atesoro estos momentos, y al pensar en ellos los vivo nuevamente. Puedo recordar sus colores, aromas y sentires, de esa forma se que lo que viví fue hermoso y al escuchar esta canción he podido viajar hasta allá. Espero les guste. Un Abrazo y mucho amor a todos. Kuami Kiachi!

Separados Png.png

Separados Png.png

Yearning for Iruya

Yearning for Iruya
I hope you remember me
I'm only one of the many who go away
A traveler who is thankful
For the shelter,
for the warmth
That you gave him that time
Almost without asking for anything
You showed me your glance
Of a different world.
It's your serene stride,
It's the peace and the simplicity
With which you teach to love you
I close my eyes
Yearning to see you again
I close my eyes
Yearning to see you again
Hidden in the ravine
Your chapel gives you away
And a sudden town
I'm thankful for your mountains
For your smiles and your mornings
And for the big River
You painted my pupils
With the colors of life
And with the humility of your people
And only when the river
Let's the wanderer go through
To get to you
I close my eyes
Yearning to see you again
I close my eyes
And I think I see you again
I close my eyes
Yearning to see you again
I close my eyes
And I think I see you again
Again
Again

Anhelando Iruya

No espero que me recuerdes
Soy solo uno de los muchos que se van
Un viajero agradecido
del cobijo, del abrigo
Que le diste aquella vez
Casi sin pedirme nada
Me mostraste tu mirada
De un mundo diferente
Es tu paso tan sereno
Es tu paz y la simpleza
Con que enseñas a quererte
Voy cerrando los ojos
Anhelando verte, otra vez
Voy cerrando los ojos
Y me parece verte, otra vez
Escondida en la quebrada
Tu capilla te delata
Y un pueblito ahí, de repente
Agradezco tu montaña
Tu sonrisa, tu mañana
Y el río grande
Vos pintaste mis pupilas
Con los colores de la vida
Y la humildad de tu gente
Y solo cuando el río
Deja pasar al que camina
Se llega a vos
Voy cerrando los ojos
Anhelando verte, otra vez
Voy cerrando los ojos
Y me parece verte, otra vez
Voy cerrando los ojos
Anhelando verte, otra vez
Voy cerrando los ojos
Y me parece verte, otra vez
Otra vez
Otra vez

Agregar un título 4.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
8 Comments
Ecency