Weekend Treat: Lemon Drizzle Cake

Happy Saturday!

It's been a few days since I thought of baking a cake and finally had the chance to do so today. Actually, I wanted to bake a carrot cake, but I found that I did not have enough carrot so "mission aborted".

So I decided to make do with what we have in the fridge, hence, today's lemon drizzle cake. It's fairly easy to make, prep time and cooking time only lasts 1.5 hours.

I also had my beautiful little kitchen apprentice who gave me a hand in most of the process. :)

When we finished, she said, "Really, it's finished? That was quick!" I said, "Yeah, easy right?"

"No! My arms hurt from mixing!", she said. Lol. Since we do not have a mixer, we had to do everything manually. She was too eager to help and I gladly accepted. :D

Lemon Drizzle Cake

Ingredients:

For today's cake, we will need the following ingredients:

  • 3 lemons
  • 1 3/4 cup all purpose flour
  • 1 cup granulated sugar
  • 3 large eggs
  • 200 g softened unsalted butter
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 6 tbsp milk

Lemon Glaze:

  • juice of 2 lemons, divided
  • 1 cup powdered sugar

Method:

  1. Grease your baking pan (9" x 4" loaf pan or an 8" x 8") then line with parchment paper.
  2. Preheat the oven to 350 ā„ƒ.
  3. Grate the zest of 2 lemons and beat in the butter and granulated sugar until smooth.
  4. Add the eggs one at a time and beat until light and fluffy.

5 - Sift together the flour and baking powder.
6 - Gradually add the dry ingredients to the butter mixture then add the milk. Beat together until properly incorporated.
7 - Pour the batter into the baking pan and bake for 45-60 minutes or until the toothpick comes out clean. Check halfway and turn.

Could be because I used a round cake pan that is too tall, my cake finished baking at around the 40-minute mark.

8 - While baking, prepare the glaze by mixing together the juice of 1 lemon and powdered sugar. Add the zest of one lemon, cut into thin strips.

9 - Let the cake cool for about 10 minutes and poke holes evenly on the cake.
10 - Pour the lemon juice over the cake. Let it cool completely then glaze.

Tip:

The other night, we were watching Nadiya Bakes on Netflix, and in one of the episodes, she shared a hack on how to easily remove the cake out of the tin. Oh my goodness! I hoped I knew about this before.

Here's the hack:

  1. Get a jar or a bowl like in my photo below, as long as it is tall enough. Place your baking pan on top.
  2. Carefully push the tin down. And voila! Cake is out!

Relax and enjoy!

Now it's time to taste our delicious cake. We really enjoyed the mild tangy taste of the lemon. Guess I now have a new favorite. šŸ’•

As with any cake, I loved it paired with black coffee.

How about you? How's the weekend so far?

ā¤ļøļø Arlyn

All photos are mine.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
3 Comments
Ecency