I Just Made a Palm Slipper that Captured a Customer’s Mindset

Hello Hivers and my fellow Needleworkers. Today, I will be showing you how I was able to make a palm slipper from the knowledge I got from a friend's traditional marriage that made a customer buy the palm with a huge amount of money.

IMG-20221006-WA0003.jpg

How it all started was that I and my wife were invited to a friend's traditional marriage some days ago and something happened at the marriage ceremony when the couple was invited to dance at the traditional marriage entertainment venue. I saw my friend's (the couple's husband's) cousin dancing with a unique palm slipper which later drew my attention to.

IMG-20221006-WA0005.jpg

I waited for the traditional marriage to end which later helped me to view the palm well from my friend’s cousin's brother but when I was asking my friend's cousin's brother about the palm that I will love to make one of it, he doubted me telling me that he bought the palm from a boutique and for that, I won’t be able to make it. I didn’t argue with him but let him go with his doubting words.

IMG-20221006-WA0004.jpg

Today, when I and my team opened our shoemaking office, I remembered the palm slipper I saw at a friend's traditional marriage but my problem was who will buy the footwear after making it. I shared the idea about the palm with my senior shoemaking team and he encouraged me that some customers will love the palm.

After the encouragement about making the palm slipper from my senior shoemaking team, we teamed up together to make the palm slipper I saw at a friend's traditional marriage. At the end of making the palm slipper, I sampled the palm in front of my shoemaking office just to see whether a customer will actually love it. To my greatest surprise, a customer came and even bought the slipper at higher than the price I expected selling it as he told me that he has been looking for a place to buy such palm.

IMG-20221006-WA0006.jpg

Note: The idea of making footwear that a customer didn’t request can actually favor another person which is what happened to me today.

Material and tools that were used in making the palm slipper:

Leather: a material made from the skin of a young or mature sheep, and many other animals for the sewing of leather works.

Sole: thick leather wear used in making palms and other footwear.

Sewing machine and needle: this is used to sew around the design of the top palm slipper.

Thread: This is like yarn but lighter and used for the sewing of leather foot wears.

Sandpaper.

Hammer.

Gum.

Scissors.

IMG-20221007-WA0006.jpg

Procedures that were applied at the cost of making the palm slipper:

I have to get the materials from the market.

I have to take measurements of the footwear, especially the top side.

I have to make some drawings of the top leather using a pen.

I have to use sharp scissors to cut the top palm slipper design.

After the cut, I have to use a sewing machine to sew the top design of the palm slipper but before doing that, I have to make sure that the thread used is of the same match as the color of the leather sewing.

IMG-20221006-WA0010.jpg

I have to make sure that I used sandpaper to rough the surface of the palm sole and the top design.

I have to apply gum on the rough I just sandpapered.

I have to place them under the sun for solid drying of the gum.

The final thing I did was to join the sole and the top design of the palm slipper together and then use a hammer to hit.

IMG-20221006-WA0001.jpg

IMG-20221006-WA0007.jpg

IMG-20221006-WA0002.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
4 Comments
Ecency