Poloniex lost my money and coins.

Loosing your assets with Poloniex is quite common apparently?!

I have to admit, I've only just got back into the crypto world from a 2 year break and decided to trade again. I got some much needed catch-up reading done and opened a few accounts on exchanges, ready to start trading. One of these accounts is with Poloniex.

I decided to transfer a small amount ($1,000 BTS) to my poloniex account, which turned up fine. And so, I sent more $5,000 worth. Got to Poloniex deposit wallet to check a few hours later and..... Nothing arrived. Waited 24hrs and still nothing.

Now I know things can take time after reading the struggles with Bitcoin transaction times but 2 days had past and I still had nothing. Yes, I peed myself. Of course, a support ticket was raised. But I later learn, it takes them, on average 2 month to respond! Yes 2 frigin month.

I desperately needed to know WTF had happened and I can't be the only person who has experienced this headache.
After lots of reading on various forums, here is what I've found in a majority user pattern:

  1. Any coin can get lost.

  2. Poloniex has suffered alot of DDOS attacks. This is the reason for the disappearance of assets.
    https://cointelegraph.com/news/bitcoin-exchange-poloniex-under-severe-ddos-attack-again-users-outraged

  3. They are inundated with support tickes.

  4. They have a very big user base that are loyal.

  5. Twitter account is quite active with updates. Shows there commitment on updates. +1
    https://mobile.twitter.com/poloniex?lang=en

  6. Majority of the unfortunate who posted their concerns on various forums, did report back claiming their asset's had arrived, EVENTUALLY; Other users also report delays of up to 2 months!

On the 3rd day: I see it on Poloniex. My coins had arrived. Relief.
I goto admit, though there are allot of you out there who is suffering the disappearance money, my research tells me, you will get your lost crypto back but unfortunately, no-one can tell you when.

I hope my story was of any use to you and please, do let me know your experience and see if we can help others.

iEKOS 😊

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
2 Comments
Ecency