Molotov Cocktail Thrown in my Dads House ~ #stoptheviolence

Yeah, you read that right. I came back downstairs to my computer after making some food and saw a missed call from my brother. So I called him back. Only to find out that my dads house was a blaze. Someone had thrown a molotov cocktail up on to his second story porch. It then grew very fast, and spread to his 3 season porch. With in no time at all, it had reached his hallway door leading to his kitchen, my step-mom was on the other side of this door.

IMG_8974.jpg

My dad had only left 10 minutes prior. My step mom heard a boom and went to investigate. Once she opened the door, she was met with a fireball to her face and black smoke began to billow into the kitchen and the rest of my dads house. She instinctively ducked her head and ran down the stairs to get outside.

IMG_8972.jpg

The fire department was there in minutes, but the damage had already been done. My dads house, one in which he has lived for the past 21 years, was basically trashed. Although the actual fire didn't reach 100% of his place, the smoke and soot are almost impossible to get rid of.

IMG_8975.jpg

Him and his wife have been staying with my family. They salvaged what they could in suitcases that are sitting in my garage. Every time I walk in there I am hit with an unmistakable smell of smoke. Not like bonfire smoke though. It's a smoke smell I've never smelt before, but will never forget.

IMG_8977.jpg

Luckily my dad and step mom are safe. That is the most important thing. Possessions can be replaced, and memories, while fade away, still have a place in our minds.

What would cause someone to possibly kill another person by lighting their house on fire, you ask?

A disagreement in politics.

This is the second house that was waving Trump flags to be burned in the past week. The other was a town over in Brooklyn Center. So whether it was BLM, Antifa, or just a Trump hater, it makes no difference to me.

The most ironic thing about this is that my dad rents out the main level to two businesses. One being a black owned barbershop which caters to mostly black people. The other is an African Hair braiding salon, another black owned business. The barbershop is a total loss but fortunately the hair salon sustained minor damage and is open for business.

IMG_8978.jpg

This unnecessary violence needs to stop and peaceful conversations need to happen.

If I had my way, politics would simply cease to exist and individuals would be able to handle their affairs the way they deem best for themselves. But I am told I am a Utopian and we need rulers to stop chaos from happening........

If burning someones house down with someone inside, for simply disagreeing with someones beliefs, isn't chaos....what is?

Here is a video I took after we were allowed back in:

And a clip from Fox 9 news who interviewed my dad:

https://www.fox9.com/news/fire-destroys-apartment-barbershop-in-north-minneapolis

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
35 Comments
Ecency