TIL: The song Jesus Loves the Little Children is Racist

How can we make a song about including everyone in love bad?

I was watching Steven Crowder's video on "Opposing Voter I.D. is Racist - Change My Mind" and he had this young woman sit down with him for a good bit of time on the video. In fact, it was some young man and this young woman for the entire video.

If you have never watched a "Change My Mind" video, it is basically Steven sitting down with whomever wants to have a conversation and discuss the topic and let the other person bring up points to change Steven's mind. I haven't watched all of his videos, I don't think anyone has changed his mind with a convincing argument. To be fair, Steven researches his topics a lot before sitting down, so he has all of his facts on hand to share with the debater and with anyone else who wants to review them.

Anyway, twice during the video Steven manages to bring up the song "Jesus loves the little children", because the lady he is sitting with was offended by words that Steven used. The 2nd time Steven brought it up, he sang more of the song and she gave a response that almost had me banging my head on my desk.

But for starters, here is the song.

And here are the lyrics:


Jesus loves the little children
All the children of the world
Red, brown, yellow
Black and white
They are precious in His sight
Jesus loves the little children
Of the world

Jesus died for all the children
All the children of the world
Red, brown, yellow
Black and white
They are precious in His sight
Jesus died for all the children
Of the world.

Jesus rose for all the children
All the children of the world
Red, brown, yellow
Black and white
They are precious in His sight
Jesus rose for all the children
Of the world


Now, I can understand that people might be upset of the old "red, brown, yellow, black and white" description. There was a time when people were called by their skin hue in a derogatory way. This song is not trying to be derogatory, it is trying to be inclusive of all the people of the world. It is saying that Jesus loves everyone, regardless of their skin color. I'm sure there are people who will disagree and hate this song, please seek out a mental health professional for your anger issues.

But, it isn't the calling out of the skin tones that upset the young college women in the video. Nooooo.... that's not the problem. The real problem is that "it sounds a little bit like 'All lives matter'".


you-have-got-to-be-kidding-me.jpg

I'm sorry, but that's just insane talk. Of course ALL lives matter to God. Why wouldn't ALL lives matter to the creator?

The fact that she made that connection and then blurted it out...I...I... what has gone wrong with society?


DeanLogicForkSing-sm.png

Let the positive energy sing!

More Power to the Minnows!!


Now Playing

Rising Star | dCity | Splinterlands

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
4 Comments
Ecency