Poker Tip Man Armen: "On Tilt"

Tilted: When a poker player becomes frustrated and let's their emotions take control, resulting in very aggressive poker behavior and ultimately losing their chips. This normally happens after a player gets a very bad beat.


    “I went on tilt when I flopped a set of 8’s and lost to a runner, runner one card flush.”


    As we all know playing poker has it's ups and downs. Knowing when to stop playing and taking a break, or stopping completely for that session can define your success.

     We have all experiance terrible bad beats that makes us go on tilt. Successful poker players have learned to manage their bad beats by dusting themselves off and moving-on to their next hand. Not worrying about the bad beat they just had and leaving it in the past. It takes a lot of self control to overcome your natural chemical reactions that take place in your brain. It takes experience and confidence in your skills to overcome the tilt.

     I have come to a point where no longer let bad beats wear me down. I understand that it's part of the game and I continue playing my odds. I tell myself “It's ok, since the bad beat already happened...it probably won't happen again for sometime. Moving forward, the odds of winning are going to work in my favor as long as I get my chips-in while I'm way ahead.” I put a positive spin on it.

    For poker players that can't deal with bad beats and go on tilt, I suggest first to learn to recognize as soon as you start tilting. As soon as you feel the the blood rush to your head, just step away and go get some fresh air or coffee. If you still can't get over it, time to get-up and leave. If you choose to keep playing while you're frustrated it will only compound your losses. 

     Recognizing when other players are tilting can help you capitalize on the the situation. One particular scenario is called steaming; when a player goes on tilt and and starts betting aggressively. This is also known as the steam bet. The steam bet usually comes right after the bad beat hand that set them on tilt. If you happen to be in the hand with the steaming player, just hope you hit something because you're going to get paid-off.

     Poker is a game of patience, you need to let the game come to you. Don't lose your composure, play the odds and the player.


Play Hard, Play Smart and Do Not Tilt

Link to original image: https://www.google.com/search?q=tilted+poker+term&client=ms-android-verizon&prmd=nisv&source=lnms&tbm=isch&sa=X&ved=0ahUKEwi58MS1_LPPAhUK1mMKHfIlA_cQ_AUICCgC&biw=360&bih=560#tbm=isch&q=cartoon+steaming+mad+bull+&imgrc=nScBw3VgYViJ3M%3A

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center