"Pop Culture Torched and Twisted! Ha!" by Richard O. and Richard F. Yates (Holy Fool)

First up this time is a FANTASTIC poetic adventure from Mr. O based on a silly ghostie that I drew a few days ago...

haunter (peg).jpg

“Mr. Carmichael!”

The gang rolled out,
to the castle on the moor.
Four of them and a dog –
you may have seen this before.

The gang solved mysteries,
hauntings they could not resist.
They solved cases with logic,
proving each time that ghosts don’t exist.

Same as it ever was,
a house caretaker above suspicion,
Mr. Carmichael his name,
so the gang made a decision.

“Let’s not waste our time,
let’s cut to the chase,
Let’s go, Mr. Carmichael,
let’s see your real face!”

Then one of the gang asked,
“Wait, isn’t this reversed?
Don’t we unmask a ghost,
to reveal a human most perverse?”

But it was too late,
as Mr. Carmichael’s skin was detached,
Revealing an unholy ghost –
Hell itself was dispatched.

The gang ran with cold terror,
but the ghost would quickly follow.
They had unleashed on the world
calamity, misery, suffering and sorrow.
(disclaimer: words from a thesaurus I did borrow)

I wish I could say this ended
like a Saturday morning cartoon,
but the truth is, the gang was never seen again,
and they have also brought your doom.

Moral of the story: A dude in an ascot with a couple girls from a prep school, an easily-frightened dog, and a dysfunctional pothead should not be ghost hunting for a laugh. Just live off your trust funds and avoid tapping into the demonic underworld. Also, I said the gang was never seen again, but the dog did live. Just the dog. Because he never wanted any part of this ghost hunting from the get go.

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Thank you, Mr. O!!!! I love that piece. Always nice to sneak some pop culture figures into a work (and kill them off! Ha!!! Yep...)

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

In the "ODD work in progress" category, here is a rough draft of some story concepts that I'm working on written on chunks of cardboard and then stuck together (for some reason) with tape...

story work - a.jpg

story work - b.jpg

story work - c.jpg

story work - d.jpg

story work - e.jpg

story work - f.jpg

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Fiction is difficult. For it to "WORK," (for me), I have to plan a plot and know where I'm going, but then once I get down to writing the ACTUAL WORDS, shit always happens and the story ends up going in a weird direction. In the actual moment---AS THE WORDS DROP ONTO THE PAGE OR SCREEN---the details will often just POP into my head based on the sounds of the words or some weird mental image or a concept that leaps at me out of nowhere.

It's somewhere between automatic writing / auto-hypnosis / and absurdist impulses. I enjoy the process, but writing DOES take a lot of energy (mental, in particular.) HOWEVER! I'm doing more of it. It's difficult but very satisfying when I finally get to THE END!

That's it for this episode! Hopefully, you had some fun! No? You didn't? WELL! Do you think you can write better stories or poems or draw better pictures???? THEN DO IT! (And send me a link! I'd love to take a look at what you've created!)

LATER!!!

---Richard F. Yates (Holy Fool) & Richard O'Brien!!!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Ecency