This content was deleted by the author. You can see it from Blockchain History logs.

Rope :: Poem #twbpoetrycontest

Rope.jpg

Made on Canva. Image source: Sweetlouise on Pixabay

Rope,

please let me go
don't hold me back
bobbing up and down
as if nothing matters

I too have
places to go
friends to meet
mistakes to make

I was made to brave
this storm--but you
tie me to your fate
please let me go

~ canoe

=====

About this poem

This poem is written based on a thought-provoking prompt for the TWB Poetry Contest 6:
"A small canoe tied to a pier, bobbing in the water under almost stormy skies." #twbpoetrycontest

But it is also written as a response to some things I have experienced lately. People I have met, situations I have been made aware of, that make my heart brake because of the resilience these young people show in the face of large storms. And how they are tied back by a system that is supposed to help them. It is a harsh world, in which I would like that canoe to be able to brave the storm on their own. Because a rope can have many different functions. Let's make sure it is not used to tie people to a place their cannot flourish.

@nobyeni.png

Here is an overview of more fiction/short stories and poetry by @nobyeni.