This content was deleted by the author. You can see it from Blockchain History logs.

On Virya - English

The poem talks about one of the Buddhist perfections named "Virya".

Virya paramita is often translated as exertion, diligence or effort. Virya practice revolves around joyful doing. There is no obstacle to doing nor obstacle to joy when the mind is free from its fear of death. In The Way of The Bodhisattva: a translation of the Bodhicaryavatara, Shantideva (2007) wrote, "Snared by the trapper of defiled emotion, enmeshed and taken in the toils of birth, again you've strayed into the maw of death. What is it? Have you still not understood?" (p. 97).

I also made a video about it, I didn't enough time in the editing but plan to re-do it with an extra bonus.

"On Vyria"

On Virya
If death were certain,
and my heartbeats counted.
I would scoff at the promise of tomorrow,
and fake dementia to old sorrows.

If the sun were warm,
and made lilies blossom,
I would make poetry just for them,
and offer my love... a tout femme.

If death were certain,
and its seed had me rooted.
I would forgive the highest crime,
and taunt false prophet time.

If I were mortal,
and my scars had memory.
All food would be glorious,
all hugs infinite,
pain sacred,
and farewells expected.

If death were certain,
I would live and love today,
no kiss unkissed,
no painting neglected,
no cause, no condition.

If death were certain,
I would just feel,
easily do,
and just be,
with no Ifs.

I'd find peace in uncertainty...
If death were certain.

  • Kashdaro

S., & B. (2006). The way of the Bodhisattva: A translation of the Bodhicharyāvatāra. Boston: Shambhala.

Video contains music from Brambles- To speak of solitude, Licensed byThe Orchard Music (on behalf of Serein), and 8 Music Rights Societies.