Endorphins – An Original Poem


The siren invaded this heavenly realm.
This oasis wrapped in hell,
with the doomed souls
pleading me to the other side.
Familiar voices tickle my sedated ear,
so I try and try to open my eyes.

Straining lids let the fire in
from the disapproving sun,
scorned and filled with venom,
as it sits blinding up there.
A passive aggressive act forcing
me back into the arms of the moon.

Shoved by wind from rushing cars,
two weak and frightened gazelles
helplessly watch as the lion taps the glass.
Accusations fell from his salivating tongue,
with legs ready to pounce and a steel doggy bag
that could easily fit around my wrists.

I'm not sure if we're civilians within this war,
that tore and tore so many lives before.
Carrying grams and grams of contraband,
as I gently drift, to and from of a distant land.
Seeing faces of glee, shining on me
as the enforcer left, setting us free.



Link to unedited image source

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now