You Got A Lighter?

E563CB1C-004A-4C55-AC4E-7ADE1F718933.jpeg

That's all I had, you're so bad I was shocked when I got a response back, I wasn’t ready for that.
Wanted it ya, that black flask gave me the backbone to ask under my gasp for a lighter, something I already had.

...I had a lighter in my pocket.

Captains dinner night on the ship, I stepped outside right quick, put a cigarette up to my lips, that’s when I saw you.
Dressed in gold, blonde hair, air was cold, just us there, but there’s gotta be a man somewhere you belong to.

...Is he rich?! Is he a big, huge rich guy?

Thank God I smoked at the time, I got no pick-up lines, no I never tried to talk to someone so fine, I must’ve been outta my mind.
I pulled out a smoke and fake coughed like I choked, you looked at me though, I don’t know but somehow I spoke: “you got a lighter?”

...You handed me one.

But you talked to me! I quickly sharpened my teeth, witty speaking is me regularly, I’m a naturally gifted wordsmith, I got this!
You were just as quick, equipped with practice and confidence, add to this perfect 10 is a masters in college, what are the chances?!
“Can I get a bucket of beer please and 2 doubles, this sexy chick next to me is quick man, see man I’m in trouble.”
Cheers - we tossed back, we cleared a path fast that steered us both to that dance club.
Whiskey had me J.T pretending I could dance, made me nervous holding hands, got me thinking mad, st-st studdering, th-th-thinking I’m in love.

...And then you kissed me goodnight!

The next morning at breakfast I saw you, went over to talk to you but you looked up at me through those blues like ‘who’s this dude?!’
Oh ok, I guess I’m just the guy from last night, my bad I didn’t predict you’d wake up in the morning and forget about me so quick like this.
She said “I didn’t.” She went back to her room, she grabbed a coffee and split, she wanted a picture with me for some reason but that was it!

...I only saw you one other time on that boat. I don’t think you saw me though.

I guess it wasn’t meant to be I never saw you and when I exited the ship I thought I’d never talk to you again.
Unknown caller made my phone ring the following weekend, I never answer those calls but I’m glad that time I did.
It was you! The baddest chick on the whole cruise ship calling me, how’d you get my number? Is this really happening?
The selfie of us you took with my phone that next morning, you sent it to your phone and erased it from mine without me knowing??

...Smooth moves! You had my number but I didn’t have yours. Well played, gorgeous.

We talked on the phone a bunch of times, high school vibe, conversation late night, finally realized I had to see you.
I exited the plane thinking it’s a one-night thing weekend but right now it’s me that you’re into.
Your eyes lit up when you saw me, I knew I had a chance, you grabbed me like we danced, I grabbed hold of both your hands.
I said “you’re gorgeous.” It was only us there, both of us lost in a terminal somewhere near southwest air.
You said “I’m F’d!” But in a good way and that was it, the rest is history but it’s the future with you in it that keeps me going.

...I’m the luckiest guy I know.

Two years later to the day, sitting high above the bay, overlook the golden gate you planned a picnic, the timing was great.
I had a ring made the previous day by a former special-a who stayed a couple miles away.
I asked the question. But first I had to let you know what you were getting:
I’m in a lot of trouble with the Feds, a gimp and family-less I’m far from perfect, to be more specific I’m a mess. I never guessed I’d be saying this so bare with me as I attest. The thought of professing these words makes me nervous and I get anxious. I got through it! It wasn’t easy but you said yes. I said “are you serious?!” I got up, “did you hear anything I just said?!”
Again you said yes! You put your arms around my neck, gave me a kiss, we left and we haven’t looked back since.


You Got A Lighter?

6BB7E484-A02D-4B84-8462-30269C05F071.jpeg

354F8C70-AB2F-4876-9F0A-EE53F34714B9.jpeg
Creative Commons Attribution
BY 4.0

In case you missed Monday:

14198A67-9DA8-47DC-B0DF-8804CD624B27.jpeg
Mic Check - My Very First Drawing On DLive!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
28 Comments
Ecency