What is in a smile? (An original video poem)

Smiles are complicated expressions of happiness. They communicate a wide variety of emotional information. Seven years ago, in a rush of inspiration, I wrote a small poem about one particular smile that could always lift up my spirit. I turned it into a video poem, that I would like to share with you.

All content in the video, including the background image are originally mine. The instrumental is Utada Hikaru’s First Love.

When a soul is happy, the face laughs.
When a soul is content, the face smiles.
For me a smile is the reflection of a soul.
But what, what is actually in a smile?
Well, I have witnessed a dozen different smiles.
To mention a few:
A smile that has that bit of arrogance in it;
A smile that makes you look ridiculous;
A smile of nervousness;
A smile only seen from disturbed men;
… and on and on and on.

Well there’s a smile in particular that I love very much.
That is the ‘worriless smile’, mostly seen in kids nowadays,
But which is still in the possession of some adults.
That ‘worriless smile’ is the moment we can see the self-confident soul.
It is carefree, because it does not try to shy away.

Please, please smile like that for everyone to see.
Show us your delightful smile.
As you put on that smile, it makes you shine.

Because your smile brings a song in my heart,
And once in a while it makes me sing. You can see the cheer in my face
As it brings joy in my steps. Nothing more I can add except that
I love it very much when you smile to me like that.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center