Eel Fishing | My Entry for POBPhotoContest

Ugh, the #POBPhotoContest by @friendlymoose deadline is creeping up, and I still haven't found a decent picture for this week's theme: Close Up!

I've been scrolling through my phone's gallery like crazy and even snapped a few new close-ups these past few days, but nothing feels quite right.

Then, today, I dropped my wife and the kids off at her village for a sleepover with her parents and relatives. Long overdue family time! I couldn't stay since I had stuff planned for tomorrow, but this afternoon, I tagged along with my father-in-law to feed his cows in the fields. Because the kids wanted to go to the field to see their grandfather's cows.

The cowshed is way out by his rice field, a good half-kilometer from the house. Walking back, I spotted this kid fishing for eels! It totally took me back to my childhood – I used to spend hours eel fishing in the rice fields behind my place.

We chatted for a bit, and guess what? He already had one eel chilling in a plastic bottle! He even managed to catch another one while I was there. Pretty impressive!

Snapped a quick picture of him in action, said goodbye, and headed back to the in-laws'. And guess what picture I ended up submitting to the contest? Yep, the eel-fishing kid!

All photos taken with my trusty Redmi Note 10 Pro, by the way.

Anyone else have any cool eel memories? Spill in the comments below!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
1 Comment
Ecency