Wildlife in Etosha National Park Namibia

Way back in 2005 my wife and I made a wonderful roundtrip through a couple of countries of southern Africa. One of the highlights of this trip was a 3-day visit to the Etosha National Parc in Namibia. Etosha is a huge game reserve of 22,270 km2 (8,600 sq mi). 23% of that is covered by an enourmous salt pan. The park was founded in March 1907.

On the park we stayed at one of the campsites. The campsite is surrounded by fences to keep the wild animals like lions, elephants and rhinos out.
Around the park they created waterholes. Because it's an overwhelmingly dry area the waterholes attract a lot of anumals. From the edge of the campsite you could beautifully see and photograph the different wild animals. Here are some examples.

zebra.jpg

I like this shot because it looks like a zebra crossing. Although I always thought zebras were nice, I found out that they actually are quite aggressive toward other animals including other zebras. They kick and bite each other a lot.

etosha.jpg

The zebra's weren't the only animals that became aggressive. Because it was quite crowded around the water holes more animals were agitated. I think these springboks were showing off who was the strongest to impress the ladies.

oryx.jpg

One of the animals I found very impressive were these Oryxes. It looks like they wear an Afrikan mask with the black and white head and their extremely long straight horns. I had never seen them before.


image.png


FriendlyMoose

Photographing is my passion. Although I like photography in general, nature photography is one of my favourite subjects. I often go out with my camera for a hike to capture the beauty of nature.

I would love to read what you think of my photos in the comments. You could also contact me if you have any other remarks or questions in the comments of via Discord (friendlymoose#5717)


More FriendlyMoose

I'm sharing my photo's on Hive and Noise.Cash.
Noise.Cash is an alternative to Twitter where you can earn Bitcoin Cash.
Become my referral and earn money there too.


Check out my weekly overview of the different photography contests:
#photographycontests


Check out my daily stats of the ProofOfBrain community:
#proofofbrainstats


Check out my daily stats of the Leofinance community:
#leofinancestats


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
9 Comments
Ecency