Pinball at PAPA Headquarters: The End of an Era

An Era Ends

Today I bring you all the sad news that this is the end of an era. It may be that you didn't know that there was an era, in which case I am introducing you to an era that is ending. The name of the era? The PAPA Headquarters in Carnegie Era.

What is PAPA?

PAPA stands for the Professional & Amateur Pinball Association. Read all about the history and mission of PAPA here. The word "PAPA" for competitive pinball players has always had multiple meanings. It meant the organization. It meant the headquarters. And it meant the championship. And for the last 15 years, it meant a 30,000 square foot building filled to capacity with pinball machines and arcade cabinets.

You're kidding, right? 30,000 square feet full of machines?

Actually, I'm not kidding. Here is a photo I took from the back corner of the facility:

20180127_133258.jpg

What you're looking at here is maybe one third of the machines? I can't be sure, but that number feels right. I can't even see all the machines in the back room. My friend Fred Cochran took this photo, which is a shot of the same room from the other side:

Otherside.jpg

There is a good chance that I've played a game on every one of these machines at one time or another and that's something I'll always be grateful for.

What was the PAPA Headquarters in Carnegie Era?

It was the era of a pinball heaven just outside the city of Pittsburgh. It was the era of playing pinball against the pinball giants (the people who play the best pinball under pressure, year in and year out) in that pinball heaven. It was the era of videos of high level play being shot at PAPA Headquarters on the PAPA carpet:

20180127_133258.jpg

It was tournaments twice a week for months leading up to Pinburgh. Heck - Pinburgh itself was a product of PAPA Headquarters. What is Pinburgh?

PAPA Headquarters was one of a kind. My friend Walt said it best when he said, "I don't think there's been another building that brought me as much joy as PAPA [Headquarters]." And it's 100% true. Every trip to PAPA was special. Every trip meant something. Every trip brought me joy.

Why is the PAPA Headquarters in Carnegie Era Ending?

It's not big enough. Did your jaw hit the floor yet? It's true though - it's not big enough. Remember that Pinburgh tournament I mentioned a few minutes ago? Well, it outgrew PAPA Headquarters. Now, once a year for almost a week hundreds upon hundreds of machines are transported from the PAPA Headquarters in Carnegie to the David L Lawrence Convention Center in Downtown Pittsburgh to accommodate thousands of people. Thousands? Yes, thousands. Pinburgh is only a piece of the puzzle that becomes ReplayFX when you put it together.

What is ReplayFX?

Have you heard (as my friend Brian would ask)? No? Then you should check out The ReplayFX website. No really, check it out. If you were looking for a reason to make it to Pittsburgh this summer (or the following summer or the following summer), now you have one. The greatest arcade in the world. And that's not an exaggeration. Also, registration for Pinburgh hasn't gone live yet, so set your calendar for February 24th at Noon EST for a chance to register. But you'll have to be quick - it tends to sell out in minutes.

The future?

What is in store for the future of the PAPA collection? I don't know. I feel anxious when I think about the relocation of the collection. Will it be the beginning of a new era? Most definitely. Will it be as great or greater than this one? Only time will tell.

Special Thank Yous

There are so many people that made PAPA what it is today. At the top of that list is Kevin Martin. Without him, I don't think PAPA Headquarters would even be conceived let alone delivered. And, the entire PAPA crew - you know who you are (and I might not so I don't want to go naming people and leaving some off the list). From those out front to those behind those doors on that one side of the complex where I never really went. Really, I never went there. Thank you so much for the memories that made PAPA Headquarters the place that brought me the most joy over the last 15 years.

Community

When I first got to steemit I was without community. Now, I have one. Thanks VOTU:

Join us on discord

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
2 Comments
Ecency