A Midsummer Handfasting

This time of the year, people start thinking a lot about weddings. (Though, historically-speaking, it has been my observation that weddings happened when they were needed, not necessarily in the best months to ensure the best odds for good weather for the reception.)

I spent over a decade in the pagan crowd, mostly in England where I attended rituals at the stone circles near me whenever I could. I even managed to attend a druid circle at Stonehenge on three summer solstices - something I will always feel privileged for as it really was a special thing. Attending Stonehenge with a small group of around 100 is a lot different from most people's experience of sharing it with a small city!

Anyway, one year, there was a handfasting when I attended. I was in a bad spot for pictures, as it turned out. But, I tried anyway and did get this one really nice shot - which needed some work.

Firstly, in order to use it without a release (especially as the happy couple did not last after their year and a day handfasting contract), I had to severely crop it in order to get them out of the picture.

At that point, it was far too small to use for anything, so using GIMP, I enlarged it. But that accentuated the lack of sharpness that had only become apparent after the severe crop.

So, I did a cross-hatch texture thing (Photoscape - texture - line_diagonal - flip horizontally - line_diagonal again - reverse back...)

Here's the result.
handfast_salvage_2x_textured.JPG

The handfasting uses ribbons to symbolically bind the wrists together - much as the ring is used in most Christian and secular weddings. So, this image is the equivalent of them placing rings on each other's hands.

If you haven't already, please check out my other photo posts from the past few days:


https://steemit.com/macrophotography/@viking-ventures/walnut-spring-a-floral-portrait


https://steemit.com/art/@viking-ventures/salvaged-2-spot-ladybug-a-minibeast-artistic-portrait


https://steemit.com/photography/@viking-ventures/2-spot-ladybug-portrait-salvage-job-to-share


https://steemit.com/photography/@viking-ventures/photo-progression-salvage-tutorial-baby-blue-flowers-version-1


https://steemit.com/photography/@viking-ventures/photo-progression-salvage-tutorial-baby-blue-flowers-version-2

Lori Aberle Hopkins – photographer at Viking Visual, author, student-of-the-world.
Follow, upvote and resteem me here and on Facebook
Check out my work at: RedBubble, ImageKind, and CafePress.
Camera has changed from time to time, the photographer has not. :-)
Unless otherwise stated, all photos are original to me and © 2008-2018.



 


(Banner by @shai-hulud) | Join here


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
5 Comments
Ecency