TimTravels - Adventures in Bali: Monkeys of Ubud Part 1

What's up my Steemian friends! Tropical greetings from Ubud, Indonesia


In my last post you already saw the beautiful rice terraces of Ubud with their impressive green landscapes. A place you should definitly visit when you are in Bali, Indonesia.

Today we will visit the monkeys of Ubud in their almost untouched home, the monkey forest of Ubud. It takes you approximately 20 minutes with the scooter to get from the rice fields to the monkey forest of Ubud. Once you arrived you will already see some of our little friends hanging out on the street. And when I say hanging out I literally mean it.

You will see them all around the place. The interesting part here is that the humans and monkeys live peacefully together. Sure, I sometimes noticed that the monkeys tried to steal some food from the local supermarket but other than that there were no incidents. The locals confirmed me that the monkeys are peaceful and happy - as long as you give them food.

Having this in my mind we entered the forest. We had to pay an entrance fee of 50k per person, 50k IDR of course. Not EUR or USD. 50k IRD should be around 3€ and the money is used to save the forest and support the animals.

Once you entered the forest a guide explains you to hide all kind of plastic bags from the monkeys. They are almost drilled to grab these bags from you since they think they might contain some snacks for them. Furthermore, never look them straight in the eyes, NEVER touch a baby! The mother most certainly will become mad at you, trust me you don't want this to happen. Otherwise you will have a good time there. For some IDR you can buy bananas to feed the monkeys. I however kept a safe distance to them since they are still wild animals and I were busy taking pictures rather then feeding them.

Enjoy the pictures and say hello to our hairy friends!










Right now I'm in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia and we will leave tomorrow to Langkawi! Anything you recommend I should see in Malaysia? Let me know!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now