This content was deleted by the author. You can see it from Blockchain History logs.

Sky Lanterns yes or no?

I have mixed feelings about these sky Lanterns

I went to the local Beach tonight to get some steps in for my exercise, but of course I had my camera with me as I almost always do.

Gulf Beach wedding party and lanterns-2.jpg

and I saw this group on the beach from a distance and wondered what the white things they had were so I had to be nosy and get closer and have a look.

Gulf Beach wedding party and lanterns-3.jpg

As you ca see it was a wedding party and they had a lot of those Sky Lantern things that you let light up and float away in the wind.

Gulf Beach wedding party and lanterns-4.jpg

they weren't having a lot of success as the wind was a good breeze and blowing in from the ocean and not out over the water as I would imagine that they were hoping for so some, got behind the life guard tower to try and light some

Gulf Beach wedding party and lanterns.jpg

They did have success with getting two to fly that I saw, but they floated with the wind away from the beach and over the Gulf Pond and peoples property. now the grass around the pond isn't very dry but some spots look quite dry and some people properties may have some dry bush so I personally was glad when they realized this wasn't working as well as they hoped and most of the wedding party left complete with the balloons.

Now I do feel sorry for the wedding couple that one of their plans didn't work as they hoped, but I am glad more didn't float over the ponds, for two reasons, I know the chance of them starting a fire is most likely small but its still a chance, and secondly I have heard of stories where the lanterns have landed in water of open areas and fish and birds have got tangled in them.

SO although they do look very pretty especially when it is after the sun has set and they glow in the dark I am not sure I am a fan of them at all.

Just curious what are your thoughts on the use of Sky Lanterns

These photos taken by me using a Sony A6500 mirrorless camera

alliance JJ.jpg

!steemitworldmap 41.210041 lat -73.052962 long Gulf Beach Milford CT d3scr