Pilanesberg Before The First Rains Series - Part One

Blue Wildebeest in a dry stormy climate

This photo was literally taken around 48 hours before the first seasonal rains in the Pilanesberg National Park in the North West Province of South Africa.

I really love this photo. I feel I got a bit lucky with the lighting, and the positioning of the Blue Wildebeest that are pictured in the shot, as well as the background and scenery. But that's what happens when you are taking photos, a lot of it is having to be present, as well as a keen eye for a potentially great shot.

The Blue Wildebeest is not my favourite animals, however, I feel the way they are positioned in the shot is almost like how a band would be positioned for an album cover. The lead singer in the front, and the rest of the band scattered around with some sort of natural positioning. You don't get more natural than this :)

As you can see the clouds are very thick, and you would be right to assume that rain followed shortly after, however, to my surprise, what that 'storm' only brought was a massive layer of dust in my car, a massive amount of wind, thunder and lightning, without any rain. It was a strange experience, and probably highlighted the desperate behaviour of an environment that is lacking of water.


I visited the Pilanesberg National Park in the North West Province of South Africa mid October 2016 and took a series of photographs which will be published exclusively on Steemit.com together with my thoughts and views on the moment that was captured.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center