Lost Without Translation, Russell Brand Response Blog, Poetry, Digital Art and Photography

Lost Without Translation



IMG_5958 (2).jpeg



Today Russell explored narrative and myth and how they effect modern day society and political organization. Through personal example he admits to his own attachment to the very thing he knows is counterproductive to the healing of a world in crisis and a global evolution with less chaos and suffering.

See below my own ideas that flowed from viewing and how they make sense to me from the loosey-goosey perspective of a philosophical taoist.


IMG_5960 (2).jpeg


I do watch sports and cheer for both teams and feel both joy for the winner as well as sympathy for the defeated. It's nice when 'my side' wins but I get over it quick when they don't. Seconds later.

Some clarification: in past years I have been what one would call a Olympic Junkie. This year I haven't gone near it. Although sports my be the only mostly truthful reporting still offered by corporate media outlets, I refuse to support blatant indoctrination attempts. I also put my Instagram and Facebook pages into hibernation until Zuckerberg and his ilk stop with the politburo collaborating. Yeah ... I paid attention in school. Sorry.

Other than for history and fashion sake ... an artistic expression ... I couldn't care less about royal family gossip; I found it interesting wrt to media studies how Megan Markle was first built up and then torn down, so she could be shown who was really in control.


23wCDiJsgf8P4SsZ9wHUqpLnteuNLryBPiPRdzsVvXcbeFA8nJp3oCsG8kQDzakJi4Fj2.jpg


Newsprint and Algorithms


royal purple linens
striped like a clown
big-top spectacle
lofty and salacious

small-minded mongers
clad in soiled shirts

file through the banners
of elevated dirty laundry
erect and fully on air

a sovereign for a rag

headlines holler

her grace is rude
his highness base

ante up one Georgie-Porgie more
Randy Andy gets a full exposé


IMG_5957 (1).jpeg


Give a Cryptic Bit ...

Meg's violaceous bloomers
revealed on twitter
for your titillations
examination and decree

but I ask
why the display
dispute and public spat ...

while you devour up the juicy bits
tabloid and tablet makers
gobble up industry and real-estate

the new feudal barons
do not wear crown or tiara
halo or oak leaves

they hold no sword or spear
constitution or divine right

but lord over you handedly they do
with fear, newsprint, and algorithms


IMG_5959.jpeg


Celebrities don't have much interest for me, unless they are doing something worth having interest in, and I don't mean tax-dodging, power and influence veiling 'foundation-work'.

Few become famous unless media execs feel they can manipulate them. And BOY did they manipulate them. I am not supposed to take science and health advice from MD's and PhD's who dare to question and safeguard against corruption, but I am suppose to take if from the likes Ariana Grande and James Cordon. That's comical.

Maybe I am jaded, but I don't feel that way. I laugh and joke a lot and am often blissed out with nature. Other than film and long-form serial narrative, where a whole lot of nuance can be worked in, I am suspicious of anything the MSM promotes, left or right.

34 of 81





Intelligence does not end in opinions
Opinions lead to strife

Intelligence pursues understanding
Understanding leads to peace

Mastering others strengthens the ego
Understanding others strengthens all

The fear of losing
Is the fear of death

Death cannot be defeated
You make yourself foolish in the effort

Opinions are not riches
But impoverishments
Let them go

Realize you have enough
Realize you are enough
Embrace what comes and prosper


***

Yes, I know I am continually expressing opinions on my learning journey but trust me, I am also thankful when I let one go that does not serve my contentment. There is some real freedom for you.

IMG_5959.jpeg


The mainstream media more like the MAINSTREAM MAFIA.


It seeks to control you and not strengthen you, weigh you down to a side and with virtue-based opinions, and now with social media keep you in line with the ever-present threat of public shaming and cancelling; and if you like to be part of this kind of thing, give you a scapegoat to take out your anger and frustration that you might otherwise aim their way.

Seeing the president of Brazil whip off his mask and lambaste a member of the media, opened my eyes to something.




They haven't just manipulated the people but have hamstrung and manipulated our politicians and prevented those would do good from doing it. He who controls the flow of information really does control the world.

I personally offer full amnesty to any politician or jouranlist who is willing to try to turn this thing around.

I understand how they got you; I doubt it would have been any different for me in your position.


IMG_5960.jpeg

IMG_5960 (1).jpeg

          

We need to be very suspicious of myth and narrative (especially those in a position of power) and spend more time unpacking them then spreading them. There are lessons to be learned but not a world to be recreated within them. Language and translation, artistic expression, can make an everyday mundane event seem mythical.

I do wonder sometimes how my own poetry is received. In literal literal land, I imagine it sounds pretty nutty. Forgive me, I enjoy a good enigma.

Time, ignorance, and a lack of understanding that we should be interpreting and not believing or rejecting turns myth and narrative into something that is then fought over.

I have a Russian friend. (He is not a spy or an operative to my knowledge. LOL.) He explains his understanding of the world in what to me seems like fanciful terms, magical-like, and so I tend to initially reject what he has said. I share my understanding in more scientific terms, and he rejects what I say. A day or two later, my mind processes what he has said into something more psychological and I go ... okay, now I understand what he meant.

The movie Arrival covers this rather well. The structure of language dictates a great deal how we see and describe the world. Again pointing to the importance of listening and interpreting and not simply believing or rejecting.



There is real beauty and love in the world; we know this; myth and narrative require contrast, protagonists, and antagonists, and as such they do not offer lasting contentment if you attach to strongly to any one of them.


Understanding and our ability to incorporate more nuance can develop indefinitely, but if we insist on concrete meaning, we are likely to engage in cognitive shortcuts and become incredibly easy to fool.



IMG_5958 (1).jpeg


39


It is known even with the material
There is more space than matter

With opinion …
There is only space
No matter

Grasp at concepts
Power, fame, virtue

Hold onto opinions
Ideas and ideologies

Raise an arm for ritual
Get a taut fist full of nothing

There is the Tao
There is faith
Then there is kindness
Then there is virtue
Next comes morality
Then comes ideology and ritual

The master cares naught for opinion
The master cares naught for power and fame
She holds onto no illusion of thought
After they have served their purpose
She lets them go to the ether

The proper place for phantoms

The master raises her sleeves
Not her fists


IMG_5958.jpeg



Go ahead and share your opinions; my mind is changeable.

***

Words and Images are my own.

Click on any title below to further explore and support my writing.


41W9NO+twnL._SX331_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

51yzou8DjZL.jpg

51Kh1EXgJ4L.jpg

41jG7IKuSWL.jpg

31gdhyzrl3L._SX331_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

51myL5BPXFL._SX331_BO1,204,203,200_-1.jpg

23561680_2086437891584498_8465926052567756066_n.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
1 Comment
Ecency