This content was deleted by the author. You can see it from Blockchain History logs.

Jackdaw,close up and personal!

Jackdaw, close up and personal!




In my journey to learn macro photography, I was thinking really hard about the things I should take pictures of. Inside the house you can try it with anything you want and the same goes for outside. So many choices and options! I started inside by taking pictures of my hand, my plants and even of my pencils and brushes.


They don't move.


And that is a great aspect when you try to take a marco picture! It's a great way to practice your focus but I wanted something more difficult! I like to pain myself it seems! LOL! So, after thinking for a while I finally knew what I should try! I have posted about him before. Karel! The sweet little Jackdaw that comes to visit me a few times a day!


kareltje1.jpg



Western Jackdaw


The western jackdaw (Coloeus monedula), also known as the Eurasian jackdaw, European jackdaw, or simply jackdaw, is a passerine bird in the crow family. Measuring 34–39 centimetres (13–15 in) in length, the western jackdaw is a black-plumaged bird with a grey nape and distinctive pale-grey irises. It is gregarious and vocal, living in small groups with a complex social structure in farmland, open woodland, on coastal cliffs, and in urban settings. ((Text source: wikipedia))


We have around 15 couples of Jackdaws where I live. Sometimes they gather together with others and the whole place turns into bird-mania! Kareltje, the bird who I call my friend, comes and visits me every day, a few times. I like to think he comes because he really likes me and wants to see my smile but I do know he comes for the snacks! Jackdaws are seriously very smart and I have found that out personally!


kareltje.jpg



He catches the bread I throw at him mid-air


I made a few small videos of that but tech and me....It's sad really but I have no clue how to get those videos from my phone to lets say youtube. But fear not... I learn and soon I will be sharing those as well!


Karel does move!


It was a real challenge to get a few good shots of him. He like a ADHD bird the moment I get my camera out! Maybe he is camera shy just like myself? He sure makes it a task to get him on picture! I took about 50 maybe 60 shots and only 2 came out good enough to share! But that is okay. When you are learning, you don't have to be the best in my own opinion!


The first picture in this post was the best one but could be even better! BUT, I am still very happy how it turned out! It's a nice learning progress if only I could magically make Karel sit still! Soon, the butterflies will be gathering together as well and they will sit still, I hope. I am also going out to learn to take even better pictures of the flowers in the neighborhood!


I had planned to go outside today for a nice walk but the weather does not seem to agree with me! The sky is gray and the wind is picking up! Maybe later today it will become better but for now the rain is master and King on the streets! So, first a nice cup of hot tea and maybe a cookie or two! Netflix is also my friend so I might just take a day off!


Thank you for reading my post!


Best wishes
@poeticsnake


54545.png

152448613663719991.jpg