Sinusoidal Lightning Behind the Minneapolis Skyline

I've been trying to get a special shot of the Minneapolis skyline for a while now. This isn't it :P About a week ago a storm rolled in, and lightning was hitting north of downtown. But there was no rain in the South! Yet. I was nearby a good spot to shoot from, so I set up the tripod and started some long exposures. Just as it started to drizzle I took my last exposure and got the hell out of there. I could tell the rain was going to come hard and sure enough, just as I got back to the car it started pouring.

Click the image for a bigger version

I noticed a good flash of lightning right at the end of my last exposure (before I picked up the tripod and started running) and thought "I hope that one's good." I wouldn't say it's good, but it is interesting. I've never ever seen a lightning bolt in a curved, sinusoidal shape like this. If you examine it closely it has some small notches in its path to the ground but overall it follows that curve. Cooool.


#pfunkphotos

Enjoyed this post? Click my name below or here for my blog page and hit the followbutton!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center