This content was deleted by the author. You can see it from Blockchain History logs.

2017 Geminid Meteor Shower - Original pictures from the desert pt 2 (saved the best for last)

From my first post (be sure to check it out too!):

A couple weeks ago was the annual Geminid meteor shower where I spent 5 hours alone in the desert to try and capture meteors.

Even though it is in the Arizona desert, at night, in December, the temperatures were a brisk 60 degrees or so, so I put on my jacket and drove a ways out of the city light pollution until it was pitch black. (I used https://www.lightpollutionmap.info which is an interactive light pollution map to find exactly how far you have to go to get away from the dull glow of cities. I chose the VIIRS 2017 satellite)

298.jpg

286.jpg

308.jpg

368.jpg

401.jpg
You can see the reflection in the lake a bit

And just for fun, I threw 87 images that were all mostly the same exposure into a gif. This is 50 minutes condensed into a gif.

starsgif.gif

All shot with Canon 5dmkII and 17-40mm at 20mm, ISO around 2000, around 40-60 second exposures.

Be sure to check out my other photography on My Blog!