Lichfield and a funeral in lockdown

My uncle very sadly died a few weeks ago after battling cancer. I wasn't super close to him in recent years, but it's still a very sad loss keenly felt by all the family - he was always so full of life and 68 isn't that great an age these days.

So this week, Tuesday to be exact, we travelled from Hull to Lichfield for his funeral (my family are all originally from Birmingham and surrounding areas).

Lichfield holds fond memories for me. Up until I was aged 9 we lived in a place not far from there called Burntwood so we would visit Lichfield fairly regularly. None of our family ever being too successful financially we could never have afforded to live there (still can't!) but it was always a pleasure to visit. It has a very old world feel to it, quite quaint, and there are some lovely buildings. There used to be a great street market there too, or at least it seemed great to me as a small child.

It's also where I shot this image back in 2013, one of my personal favourites (best viewed as large as possible).

DSCF0726Edit2.jpg

I think this guy is the best busker I've ever come across. He put so much effort into it with a whole costumed vibe going on! I clicked my camera, left him a decent tip and went on my way. That whole walk around the small town was worth it for this one image.

Anyway, back to the funeral.

With lockdown restrictions still in force, numbers were limited to 18. Luckily our family isn't a huge one so every family member who wanted to be there was able to attend - there was a sizeable gathering of friends just outside the doorway too. I feel so very sorry for those people who lost loved ones at the beginning of the pandemic when attendee numbers were far more restrictive. It's a horrible time to be losing somebody dear to your heart.

We did all have to wear masks, which was quite uncomfortable on a very hot day (especially when you'd spent several hours cooped up in a car beforehand) but you do what you have to. I was just glad I was able to attend. It is quite difficult to comfort people when social distancing is a factor but we seemed to muddle along ok.

It was a religious ceremony which isn't really my cup of tea but it was quite nice nonetheless, fairly informal as these things go. Steve (my uncle) had actually chosen a piece of music for it which naturally brought the tears flowing from numerous sets of eyes.

Funerals are always strange things, in that they're obviously very sad occasions but you also get to catch up with family members that you might not have seen for years. This one was no different, but unfortunately we didn't get much time to chat as we're not living in normal times. The traditional after funeral get together was absent for obvious reasons.

As I mentioned, I'm not a religious person. Despite that, there's a part of me that likes to think we live on in some way after death. I hope Steve is in a place surrounded by those we've already lost. I take some comfort in thinking about him winding up (he was a great wind up merchant) my aunt (his sister) who we lost 17 years ago.

Have fun up there Steve!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
8 Comments
Ecency