In the Studio with Alex

The shots in this post are from where I attended a local camera store's portraiture workshop. I took this class to refamiliarise myself with studio lighting principles, and while I did not learn an incredible amount, it was an important reminder about ... not shooting wide open in every single exposure.

As you're in a studio, you can completely control the output of the lighting and instead shoot for the sweet spot of your lens sharpness and native ISO.

Syncing to the Studio lights, however, was interesting, following my recent experiences with nearly flawless godox speedlights and triggers.

The studio lights were dated models, with a traditional sync speed of 1/250, so that meant no high speed sync. Most of these were shot at ISO 200 f5.6/f7.1.

The only lens I used was my Nikon 105 F2 DC.

The model in these shots is https://instagram.com/iam_alexmoore?igshid=12wqh59b2708h

With shot in particular, I was probably too ambitious in my direction to "get as close to the softbox as possible" as the catchlight in the eyes is very clearly... a softbox.

Same lens, but at 2.8, just using the modelling lights while other fellow photographic students were using the trigger.

Studio Photography is so much easier than natural light - especially when you're hunting for the perfect match of scene, light, and accessibility.

In the Studio, over the three or four hours spent there(after seven years since setting foot in one) I quickly remembered the importance of light direction and quality, which I believe will continue to see more improvements in my natural light photography.

Thanks for stopping by. Comment and critique is always welcome!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
6 Comments
Ecency