Shy Showgirl Sunday

showgirl1.jpg

My sister surprised me with a gorgeous coffee table book for Christmas, Fräulein by Ellen Von Unwerth, which is filled with, you guessed it, the most gorgeous, glamorous and sexy images of women. I've been leafing through it several times over the past days and felt a little prickle of inspiration because of it.

I didn't really know what I was going for but I started with the pretty classic makeup I always do, and then as I saw one particular picture in the book of a girl with wild dark curls, I decided to curl mine.

The wild hair gave me showgirl vibes so I dug up the one corset I have and tied my grandma's old pears around my neck. That's how my creative process usually starts, it's one little thing, a piece of clothing, makeup, jewellery, a character in a film, one thing that takes me to the next and I start to build my own character on top of it.

An ill fitting corset is not the most comfortable thing to wear, as you might imagine, and I think at some point managed to get some of my ribs and insides in a weird way. My overactive fire alarm had a freakout about the candles mid shoot and I hurried to silence it, as I jumped on a chair and reached up, it suddenly felt like some of the lower ribs got in a tangle and I struggled to breath deep. Got me racing to unlace the corset, which is not very fast to do on your own. Insides got back to normal as soon as I ripped the corset off.

Self portraits shot with the Fujifilm x100f.

showgirl2.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
17 Comments
Ecency