I'm Missing Summer Photo

d.jpg

I took this photo over Labor Day weekend last fall. I just used my iPhone 6, and didn't process it with any filters or adjust any contrast settings. I really enjoy the combination of colors and the composition. I didn't even see the anchor until now!

I love boats and boating paraphernalia for all of the vibrant colors. Usually there's water reflecting the colors in fantastic patterns, but here we have grass, a refreshing contrast for the reds. It reminds me of Motif #1, in Rockport, Massachusetts with the buoys.

As with all most of my photos, the plan is to paint them in oils. This one is no exception, but it's definitely a candidate for a plein air style painting. I'll do it in 8x10 or similar, and use quick strokes. I think it will be fun. Then, maybe I'll make a large version. I love working large. Something about the size makes the details easier. And the effect of a large painting is amazing!

When I'm finishing a painting, I get anxious to get it done and move on to the next one. So, now I'm shopping through images, looking for the one I'm going to be staring at intensely for the next weeks or months.

What do you think of this image? Do you like boats, too?

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now