What makes a good photographer ?

Lately I have been thinking; what is it that makes a good photographer ? I’m not saying I am one, but since I want to improve I think it’s the best question to ask oneself if you wish to evolve. When I went for a hike yesterday to take some photos I think I found some clues to the question.

12CE583F-8604-4496-9FB5-BAD95228093A.jpeg

The first thing I guess is kind of obvious. Location Location Location. If you want to photograph something beautiful you need to find a beautiful location. So for this hike I went to a small natural reservation. The field with the surrounding hills offer some breathtaking views.

D3226FAA-554E-4DF1-9E1D-CA582A663E21.jpeg

The next thing is equally important. Timing. Not only in terms of weather but what time during the day you go to photograph. It’s also about the timing of the seasons. I have been waiting for a day like this for a long time, when the the autumn firework is fully blooming, and the sky offers this deep blue color.

AA0CD6C2-B7A6-413E-B601-638AB8E67692.jpeg

The next thing I guess comes down to more about the active choices of the photographer and the way he/she chooses to capture the subject. Like the above picture for example I took when I walked back. I thought there was nothing more to capture but then I looked up and saw the canopy. Quite beautiful I thought and started focusing more on this perspective.

8C0A4D06-A2E8-40D9-96C7-0FE64F648546.jpeg

Above are some of the important things I think makes a good photographer. But I forgot to mention the most important ingredient which is passion. If you have passion for photography you will spend the time that allows you to find the right places at the right time and you will gradually improve through practice.

What do you think makes a good photographer?

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
2 Comments
Ecency