Sunset at Seaside

Seaside sunset 1 s.jpg

I recently wrote a post on Terrible Tilly, the lighthouse just off the coast from Tillamook Head in Oregon (you can see it here ). In the process of working on it I edited a few photos that had a bit more color than was welcome in the #blackandwhite community so I reckon I will pick up where I left off with those. The landmass on the left of the photo above is Tillamook Head and if you look just to the right of the lens flare at its base you will see a tiny speck on the horizon, that's Terrible Tilly and the tiny island it's built upon.

Seaside sunset 3 s.jpg

All these photos are from the beach at Seaside, Oregon, which is just north of Tillamook Head. Seaside was my first stop after crossing the Columbia River into Oregon (Astoria is the first town you come to but I backtracked from Seaside to visit it) and I liked it so much that my 2-day stay turned into a full week there. It's hard to beat a hostel that's $20 a night with pancakes in the morning :D

Seaside coastline s.jpg

Ok, so I lied just a bit, this photo is looking north toward Tillamook Head from Ecola State Park, just north of Cannon Beach. I could have spent a month instead of a week wandering around these parts and still not manage to take all the photos I want. My only complaint was that along with being pretty, the water of the Pacific was also pretty damn cold. All but the photo above are from my first night in Seaside, I'd went out on the sand barefoot to catch the sunset and while I was doing that my feet caught the cold good enough it took and hour and a half to get feeling back into them afterwards.

Seaside sunset 2 s.jpg

I've spent way more time by the Atlantic Ocean than I have the Pacific but there's just something about watching the sun set into the water that the Atlantic just can't compete with (at least on this continent). So what's y'alls favorite place to watch the sun slide below the horizon?

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
9 Comments
Ecency