Betty Noir Photoshoot Archives. Pinup Style.

49F01E0A-A980-495A-AF4D-8C95C377F0FF.jpeg

I think it's clear to see why I love my job so much, from just this one behind the scenes snippet. Frenchy Petite & Ginger Starlight, together form a fun high energy, Hula Hopping cabaret duo. I've had the pleasure of working with them on many occasions over the years, both together and solo. Every time they're in my studio it always makes my day a little brighter 😊

I always struggle to get the behind the scenes pics, I'm so in the moment when I'm on a shoot that my focus is fully on providing a great service and capturing the professional pics. So I was so glad I managed to capture the moment Frenchy almost fell out of the wheelbarrow (definitely one of the more random props anyone has ever brought along with them on a photoshoot 😂)

71734D0B-0F02-4D18-8960-C12DD0083DAC.jpeg

83FFA3A9-D810-481A-AEBA-E4CDC8F7FDA5.jpeg

This classic pinup style is my bread and butter at the studio and was the reason I set up Betty Noir Studio.
My passion for vintage styling and photography merged, after going for my first ever photo shoot and being so disappointed that what was advertised as "Pinup" was actually far from it!
This planted the seed in my mind. I had a basic knowledge in photography at this point in time, my hair styling skills were pretty good and pinup makeup was my daily look anyway.
I'm not sure how long past, before I took the plunge to set up my own business in the pinup makeover photography industry. Perhaps a year? Maybe less! It was that age old "If your dream job doesn't exist, create it".

1DD69083-F4ED-4A0A-B575-DCF52EE98DF8.jpeg

After winning a local photography competition, the prize being a few hours studio time as the photographer. At this stage I hadn't really decided to go it alone. I was offered a job as a photographer at this very same studio, which was oh so tempting at the time, but the cons outweighed the pros, and so I decided to set up a studio from home. I very quickly picked up enough information on studio photography to get myself started. I purchase a fairly cheap studio lighting kit and a couple of backdrops. I already had a vintage styled home with tonnes of clothes and props that my clients could use. I bought a few extra pieces in different sizes so I could cater for all, and I was ready to start building my portfolio! So I thought it would be a great idea to share some of my work from over the past 8 years with you all.

C5CEB953-CF8C-4690-8722-BA46A75E929C.jpeg
Pic from one of my first ever photo shoots at my home studio.

My business took off quicker than I could ever have imagined. Being from a very small town, the amount of ladies that loved the style but were too scared to try it in their day to day lives, just blew me away, and even more so the amount of ladies I had visiting me from all over the UK!
I was able to provide the full Pinup experience from the hair and makeup, to the shoot, and assisting my models with posing. The great thing about entering a niche market like pinup, is the styling and posing is quite specific and so easier to research, learn and perfect.

AF0E18F3-08D9-45ED-847A-AEB9284AC199.jpeg
One of my oldest friends who kindly modelled for me. Photo from 2013, the year I opened my home studio and launched Betty Noir Studio.

Some of my work I would recreate old pinup classics by the likes of Gil Elvgren and Alberto Vargas. This is something I haven't done for quite some time now, but it's on my future to do list! I love the idea of being able to be one of those ladies in the pinup paintings I've spent so many years admiring.

0C2F2ABA-088A-4424-B47F-D310D6D850AD.jpeg
Classic pinup image recreation with the lovely Beccy. 2013.

470439A4-D9AF-49F9-B401-E66154CEA888.jpeg
Valentines pinup recreation 2013

12CEF21E-4AD7-4345-8DAE-40314DDC9A84.jpeg
Elvgren pinup recreation 2013

I have so many more images from the past 8 years that I'd love to share with you all. Too many for one post. So I shall be sure to pop up another post soon.
I love seeing how my work has progressed over the years, not just in the photography itself, but the post processing, the hair and makeup, posing and styling.
It's great to look back and realise what once seemed like a dream, a complete fantasy, has now become a reality for me. I created the career I always wanted 😍

*All images are my own.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
9 Comments
Ecency