Side trip to Tustumena Lake Alaska

September 30th, 2021

Road Views and Stops to Tustumena lake boat launch

Fall is almost really done here. It has been a tough 2 weeks getting things prepped for winter. I think we have it all under control now.

We wanted to get one more Fall Picture excursion done before the possibility of freezing rain or snow gets here. In the past few years we have not had to worry about it until the end of October, but you just never know. When I first got to Alaska winter began in the first or second week of October, the last few years it has pretty much waited until November.

So on with the picture show.

Paved road part to Tustumena Lake Boat launch

I do not usually ride shotgun, but we just got my wife's vehicle back with the winter tires on and mine dropped off to have them installed mounted and balanced.

So on the way home we took a slight detour to Tustumena Lake Boat Launch. The image above is the road to the lake, the paved part, the asphalt runs out about 6 miles before the lake then becomes gravel.


Tustumena Boat launch area camp spot

It was nice to see the camp area well maintained, one year we went out to the boat launch and it was like a herd of pigs or a nest of mice were living there, so real nice to see the place not all trashed out.

Hand water pump

No electricity out there, so the water is drawn from a hand pump. I gave it a few pumps but didn't get any water out of it, so not sure if it worked or not.


Centennial lake

A small lake along the road to the boat launch. It was a pretty spot, nice and clean and had some killer reflections going on. It was hard to not keep getting my head shadow in the picture.

There are a few camping spots and fire pits and it looked like it would have been a great place to camp and then canoe on the lake.

Leaving The Lake

As we were leaving the lake the trees just looked great in the light so I leaned out and got a non-windshield shot. It would have been nice if there was a cloud or two, but still I think it is a nice representation of what the trees look like to my eye.


The view in the rear view mirror was pretty nice so I tried leaning out and getting a nice shot looking back with my camera, I really like the reflection in this shot.

Looking back


Back on the pavement

And this shot concludes the trip, back on the pavement and headed home. Not exactly a Wednesday Walk, more of a Wednesday walk and drive. It was nice to get the tires changed out, to get my vehicle dropped off, and to have an enjoyable drive and a couple of little walks in nature.

Both car tires are all done now and we are set for winter driving when it gets here.

Tiny Picture links back to my blog:

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
7 Comments
Ecency