Poultry dilemmas - ducks.

While Inleo has problems with publishing posts where I talk about my collection of original drawings there is an opportunity to switch my attention to where I stopped thinking about life in the countryside, trying to find the optimal pill of happiness and not to do stupid things when I have to move from words to deeds.

So, it is clear that when I move from the city to the village I will think about getting myself some poultry among which there are those that raise many questions.

Today let's start talking about ducks.

Some say that ducks are a headache and someone says that there is no bird more profitable than ducks.

Let's start with the cons they breed dirt around themselves and your yard will turn into a swamp they constantly need water, without it the duck will stop gaining weight I do not mean drinking water, but bathing the duck in water.

Another big minus is the duck's predisposition to helminths and such an unpleasant thing as salmonella.

Moreover if ducks live next to other poultry, for example with chickens then the probability that the chickens and their eggs will become a source of salmonella increases exponentially.

Antibiotics and other measures to prevent such a scourge are mandatory.

Yes, and the minuses include the noise of ducks, if these are not whispering ducks, or Muscovy ducks as they are called, which hiss but do not quack.

All these minuses I think, are covered by a fat plus, ducks very quickly gain "trade weight" which means that you spend less of your time on a duck than on another bird and get a profit from it earlier.

Although ducks are very voracious, but it's worth it.

There are many breeds of ducks and we can talk about the pros and cons of different breeds.

But I rely only on my photographs and therefore I will only talk about what I see in front of me in the photograph.

Wild mallard ducks are probably one of the most resistant savages to various kinds of bad weather but when hunters cut open the breast of such a duck they often find large helminths there, in nature no one treats ducks, as you understand.

By @barski

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
44 Comments
Ecency