And then two birdies decide to move in...

First a snail... a tiny one, but... a snail
And then birds!

Not kidding!

At first, I heard lots of twittering, lots of flying in and out...
This is just outside of my kitchen, a small space we call the utility area, where a horizontal water pipe offers about a foot or less space... and they decided that was home

Who was I to deny them?
Short of welcoming them with open arms...

Btw, a bit of checking online showed that these are... wait for it....
Welcome Swallows!


DSC00146b-1.jpg

First, let me say I'm no bird photographer
But this gives me an opportunity to test out my 50mm lens
These are very shy birds... so I was sneaking up on them for these shots
When they knew I was around, they'll sit just outside on a nearby window ledge


DSC00174a-1.jpg

See all that nest material in its beak...
Well, they were building a nest!
Looks like I was gonna have baby birdies... yayyyyyyyy!
After about a week or two of observing the traffic and security of the chosen place, the building started...


DSC00143a-1.jpg

That's the nest... with one of them in it!
When I took that shot, the nest was still being completed
Nest building seems to be complete now
They are small birds, about 5-6 inches,
so you can see how small that space is...
And protected... and high... and awkward it was to stretch my arms up and catch a shot without scaring mum or dad off!


DSC00176a-1.jpg

I was mighty pleased to get them together here... and clearly!
Ohhhh, there were many others, that didn't come out too well


DSC00181a-1.jpg

Getting them in the nest was a bit more difficult
And I didn't want to scare them off either!
One is a bit more shy, and refuses to come to the nest when I am there
This one doesn't mind me as much

They are beginning to stay the night now...
Am wondering if the eggs are laid... or will be soon...


Captured with SONY A5100 + Sony E 50mm f1.8 OSS lens | ©image & text original content | click image for fullscreen view




Qurator is now on HIVE!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
23 Comments
Ecency