Dead Leaf - Deep dive into the texture.

Light Painting a dead leaf.

I have a friend with an Instagram channel dedicated only to dying leaves. The Beauty of Autumn caught in photography. So I thought I have done some leaves some flowers and trees and then there was this dead leaf coming off of my palm tree in my living room.

Here is the main and last image of the night. I was happy after that.
2021_10_20_dead_leaf_68_lr_2.jpg

How did I do that?

The main featured shot is a 77-second single exposure Light Painting. The camera was set to ISO100 and the 105mm Sigma Macro 2.8 lens with F20 fairly closed.
At first, I applied light to a copper filter grid to get the pattern on the side for some depth in the image, then I removed the filter and applied some light from the front and back of the leaf, and then I used some black fiber brush in orange and white as a final step. You can see the setup in the next image.


What was the process? Step by Step procedure:

Before I got to all the different effects combined in one shot I had a hard time setting up the leaf that I can put the light from the front, sides, and from the back. So I hang it up and used tesa-film to fix it to the floor.
2021_10_20_dead_leaf_setup.jpg
It was still moving around a little, but not too fast. If I light it up fast I could make it look as it was still.

So I started testing different lighting techniques. At first, it was all blurry so I wanted to use a camera flash.
2021_10_20_dead_leaf_16_lr_2.jpg

But it was very hard to hide my hand. So being at home I put on a black jacket and covered my hand as well.

That was better. Here is just the light from the backside.
2021_10_20_dead_leaf_4_lr_2.jpg

2021_10_20_dead_leaf_24_lr_2.jpg

Then testing the light from the front. First only from the front.
2021_10_20_dead_leaf_18_lr_2.jpg

Then I do the front and the back. The yellowish tint comes from the light shining through the leaf. But it was a bit much from the front. Now I need to find the balance between front and back.

2021_10_20_dead_leaf_19_lr_2.jpg

During this process, I started to make a decision on how I wanted the leaf to look like for the final approach adding extra features like the fiber brush.

2021_10_20_dead_leaf_23_lr_2.jpg

2021_10_20_dead_leaf_37_lr_2.jpg

This is what I wanted. So now let us test it in combination with some light effects.

2021_10_20_dead_leaf_45_lr_2.jpg
Nope! I want more flashy.
2021_10_20_dead_leaf_49_lr_2.jpg

Ok, this is going in a really good direction. This is what I want to build on for the main shot. This shot is almost what I wanted in the first place. It is still subtle enough to please the eye of most people with being too kitschy.

Let's practice and memorize the procedure. Then I can add more effects.

2021_10_20_dead_leaf_44_lr_2.jpg

That's was then more to my liking and is one of my favorites of the night. It almost feels like the energy of the leaf is given back to the world into the cycle of life closing.


I hope it was also inspirational. If you have more questions please do not hesitate. I am happy to share my knowledge.


Gunnar Heilmann Photogrpahy

If you are interested in more of my art please also see:
Website YouTube Facebook Page Instagram Feed

Since I am one of the cofounders of the LightPainters project, I also help and support the Light Painting community as a curator - not only on the Hive.

We are Light Painters

To help and support the LightPainters community here on Hive I would appreciate your delegation of HivePower. Any amount is appreciated. It does not require much to get started, we are happy for any gesture.

How to delegate?
Delegate 50HivePower, [50HP]
Delegate 250HivePower, [250HP]
Delegate 500HivePower, [500HP]
All the Hive Power will help to upvote the artist's contribution as part of the LightPainters community.

Thank you so much!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
6 Comments
Ecency