Dancing with the Stars

...the real ones, not the ones from Hollywood.

milkywaydancer-0222.jpg
circa June 2013

One of my photography passions is night photography. It's actually a large reason of why I bought a DSLR 5 years ago. I love the night sky!

My second photography passion is Dancers. Probably because I'm a natural (sarcasm) dancer myself.

One day after photographing the milky way early one May morning (like 4 am) back in 2013, I thought to myself, it'd be cool to do portraits under the stars. As that day went on, I kind of thought on it, and thought "Ya, this could be my thing, portraits under the stars." I just happened to have photographed a group of ballet dancers from the UofU ballet troop (is that what it's called?) a few weeks prior, and it hit me, I can photograph dancers under the stars! I think....would it work? Could they hold still enough for a long exposure? What if I fire a couple speed lights on them? Ya, that should work. Only one way to find out, right?
So I persuaded a couple of the dancers that this idea would be awesome, if it did indeed work. So out we went, 90 minutes west of Salt Lake City, out where the skies are dark enough to see the milky way clear as you can.

It worked!

Fast forward 5 years, my technique has been perfected and I've photographed with ballet dancers, pole dancers, aerial dancers, and even some engagements and maternity photos. See more work here as well as on my instagram (instagram.com/caseygrimleyphoto)

Enjoy a few of my favorites from over the years:

First ever Pole Dancing with the Stars - 2015
Pole Dancing with the Stars-20150612-142-Edit.jpg
(Click to view large)

First ever Aerial Silks with the Stars - 2015
Aerial Dancing with the Stars-20150905-107-Edit.jpg
(Click to view large)

Pole Dancing under the The Watchman at Zion National Park
Sassy Resuello-Pole Dancing with the stars-20160602-DSC01139-Edit.jpg

First Lyra (aka hoop) with the stars
Aerial with the Stars-20160827-645-Edit.jpg

Silking with the Stars....and a shooting star!
Aerial with the Stars-20160827-544-Edit.jpg

Silking with the Stars - Ashleigh
20170623-DSC00130-2-Edit.jpg

The Sacrifice - First pano with a dancer under the stars
20170625-DSC00223-Edit.jpg
(Click to view large)

Pole Dancing with the Stars
20170818-DSC00152-2-Edit.jpg

Lollipop with the Stars - new favorite apparatus!
20171012-DSC00129-Edit.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
5 Comments
Ecency