Selfies in Places Part 2 - A Collection of Self Portraits in Wild Places

Continuing with my collection of self portraits I will add these four photographs

Looking back on these photos I took early on in my journey I have started to appreciate some of the "mistakes" I made along the way. I am please that I can look back at these and see how i have improved since taking them.

It is important to be grateful for this learning time. I am reaping the rewards of the time spent shooting in these early days. Obviously it helped me be better with the camera but it also allowed me to build a list of go to spots which I can choose to shoot depending on conditions.

oct_2021_dmarkel_self_portrait_collection-2.jpgRise and Shine - 11mm | f/16 | 1sec | ISO 250

I have shot this location so many times. Dozens or even over a hundred of times perhaps. I have minted photos from this location. On this morning I was just there to see if I could catch some colour.
I think If I was to rework this image in post I would remove some of the shrubs on the left. Or even crop out that larger bush entirely.
~~

oct_2021_dmarkel_self_portrait_collection-10.jpgHigh Above the Thompson Valley - 98mm | f/16 | 1/50 sec | ISO 100

The short but steep trail to the top of Mara Mountain is a great after work hike. This 3km, 800m climb provides incredible views over the Thompson Valley and the slot canyon on the way up feels almost prehistoric.
~~

oct_2021_dmarkel_self_portrait_collection-3.jpgSoul Gone - 11mm | f/2.8 | 15 sec | ISO 1600

As I alluded to in part one of this collection, my early years of photography were under the shadow of addiction and a decaying marriage. This shot was taken on a night which I just didn't want to go home. The temps were below -20c and I just laid in the snow while the camera was timelapsing until it was I was to cold. I got up with my headlamp and walked to the truck to warm up. When I checked the shots the next morning I was shocked and surprised how the image captured how I felt in that moment, like my soul had left me.
~~

oct_2021_dmarkel_self_portrait_collection-6.jpgDeep in the Forest on Red Plateau - 28mm | f/2.8 | 1/125 sec | ISO 320

Once again, on a hike to the northwest of the city and the first KM is through the forest. I was feeling creative with the mist and moss covered trees. This was the result.

I have been in sensory overload a few times on this hike. Normally it is a stuffy sun baked hike but on a few occasions the weather can transform it into a dark dreary wonderland.

I hope you have enjoyed these photos. I will be posting a part 3 as well which will finish off this collection.

~~
You can also check out what I am doing on other platforms:
Website
Instagram
Twitter

If you are into NFTs I am on...
OpenSea
Foundation
Tux

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
6 Comments
Ecency