The Future of Photo52

This year, 2020, has been a long year for so many reasons. I often refer to it as the longest 12 month decade I've experienced.

original_2013_0101_1335_jpg.jpeg

It was last December, about December 26, 2019 in fact, that I had the idea to run a weekly contest in 2020. It was inspired by my own enjoyment of participating in "Photo 52" challenges, with new and interesting weekly themes. I thought it'd be really neat to run a year long contest, and it absolutely was. I've met some great people and enjoyed some amazing photography.

What I did not realise, at the time, was the sheer amount of work that would need to go into a contest of this magnitude. It has been, at times, great fun, exhilerating, depressing, insightful, and educational. Sometimes all at once!

The contest had it's greatest success on the Steem platform. Engagement and rewards both dropped dramatically after the switch to Hive, and that was something that never really recovered. When engagement began to drop so did my motivation. Add to that my other priorities and I even missed two weeks completely.

I do still like the idea of a year long contest, but one of the things I've learned is that I cannot do it on my own. If anyone would like to help - or take it over - drop me a note! I'm easy to find. I think four or five people would make light work. I definitely have some lessons learned and ideas for things to do differently and better.

Until then, there's one more week left, and then the grand finale! One giant dpoll with a large number of awesome photo's to choose from!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
2 Comments
Ecency