This content was deleted by the author. You can see it from Blockchain History logs.

Photo52 2020 Challenge! Week #2 - Something New.

It's Week #2 of the Photo52 challenge! The theme for this week is Something New and I am excited to share with you something I've been waiting for since Christmas.

I'm not used to receiving Christmas presents and whenever I come into any money I usually spend it on something that the whole household needs, or spend it on my son. Last Christmas I was given some money with the explicit instruction to spend it on me and only me. It took me a few weeks of thinking what I could possibly spend it on.

I wanted to get things for the house. But I got told, "No."
I wanted to spend it on a fortnight's worth of groceries. But I got told, "No."

Finally I decided on a creative outlet. Painting! I made my order and received it today.

week2_photo1.jpg

After reading several reviews and conversations on artist forums I bought Atelier Interactive pastels, black and white Liquitex paint pens, an art pad fit for painting, and two taklon paintbrushes. One for texture and one for my thick backgrounds.

I'm not very artistic but I enjoy painting. Just like I'm not a very good photographer but I enjoy my camera and taking photos of things. 😅 It's a learning experience.

Most of my paintings are pretty simple. I enjoy blending colours into a thick background then going over it with random patterns. They suit my tastes and my family likes them, though are probably considered simplistic to a proper artist. 🙂

The last time I painted was a year or so ago. It had a thick black and red blended background with black and white patterns all over it. It was not the easiest for me. I was trying to paint my patterns with a very low quality paintbrush and it didn't work out quite like I wanted.

Hence my excitement to obtain these paint pens!! 😁

week2_photo2.jpg

They're beautiful. The black one in particular is amazingly smooth. The white one... eh, I wouldn't write home about that one. The white one requires you go over things maybe five or six times before it becomes visible, but the black one is perfection. I can see myself using these things a lot in coming months.

I mostly whipped this little thing up to quickly test out the pastels and the new paint pens, and my son likes it so I guess it'll be in his room soon enough.

week2_photo3.jpg

Tada! 👩‍🎨🎨

Test-painting; complete! Apart from the white paint pen being a bit irritating to work with, with constant over-coats, I'm very pleased with my Christmas present to myself.

Now to wait for my son to go back to school so I can actually have some time to myself, gather some patience, and create something wonderful.

 


 

This is an entry for @photo52's 2020 Challenge, and you can find further details at the following link:
https://steempeak.com/photography/@photo52/photo-52-2020-challenge-week-number-2

 

Until next time,


Thank you for stopping by! 😊

 


Photos and artwork courtesy of me, @kaelci, using the aforementioned paints and a Nikon D5000 with 55-200mm lens.