3 Newbie Tips to Get Rid of That Annoying Bandwidth Limit!

So you signed up to Steemit hoping to make it big and earn a lot here. You've spent some time around Steemit and then suddenly BAM! You got hit by the exceeded your bandwidth limit notice. What now? šŸ˜±

image.png
(source)


I've had the same problem since I started and became active 2 months ago. Luckily I realized and just found out some of the ways you can get out of that bandwidth limit problem. Lemme tell you how you can get some bandwidth delegated to you. But first, as a newbie or minnow, you have to check your bandwidth via steemd.com/@ your username. Put that in the browser address bar without spaces

After checking your bandwidth, and seeing the rest of your activity, you can see what's going on in your account. Explore it so you'll know more about your Steemit account. If you still have @steem delegating some bandwidth to you then that's a big help already. As soon as you grow in Steem Power (SP) it's delegation will be less and less until you don't have any left! What should you do then? šŸ¤”

Well I started out with just powering up. For you to get more SP you either buy Steem using your money and then/or convert the Steem Dollars (SBD) you earned into Steem so you can Power Up. There's plenty of posts on how to do it, do a quick search here on Steemit and you will find a lot.

Even after doing that, I still kept getting the bandwidth limit issue. I have never thought of asking anyone to lend me some SP. Not even @pinay or @junebride who are my online friends. Haha. I only knew that I should power up as much as I can to grow my SP. Hey I'm a red fish newbie and was super clueless so how should I know, right? For some, the usual route to take would be to request some bandwidth from someone. But who would lend you some SP when you're a newbie right? šŸ˜„

Here's some tips for you to get some SP delegated to you. šŸ‘

1 Be active on Steemit

(Source)

Yeah ok this will lose you your precious bandwidth but don't let it stop you from using it. Why? Because if you join contests and comment genuinely on posts of other people, pretty soon you will have some SP delegated or lent to you if they have a good heart. :) I got some extra SP this way.

This happened to me without my knowledge. Lol. Thanks to @zeroooc who lent me around 2 SP+ 17 days ago. I didn't even realize it happened until it expired. I didn't know how to check steemd at the time or I was simply unaware what it meant before. @zeroooc is an amazing artist and he held a fun art contest that I joined and won 3rd place on. Heehee. The SP was part of my prize. šŸ’°

2 Make new friends

There's plenty of ways to make new friends on Steemit. The first step is being active. The second step is finding other ways to make friends when you have bandwidth issues.

avatar-3127928_640.jpg
(Source)

What I do when I am not able to do anything on Steemit because of the limit is go to Steemit chat. Or you can try Discord if you're on there. Can't personally vouch for Discord since I don't use it but I'm pretty active on Steem chat. Steem.chat used to be steemit.chat, but the new owner seems to have changed it to steem.chat url/web address.

So, on Steem.chat there are plenty of things to do. You can search for channels there to promote your posts in to get random upvotes (like #postpromotion channel) and also find other interesting posts to read. Go to #help channel for any Steemit problems you have. Or just go to #general and have a chat with anyone online. Don't go begging for delegation though. It might get you flagged/downvoted just like if you go around commenting and asking for it on the big fish (dolphins or whales) accounts here.

If you develop friendships there, someone might think of delegating some SP to you. Just like@apsu who has a big heart and lent me some. Awwww. Thanks so much @apsu! ā™„ I'm pretty sure you'll have more followers now thanks to me. Lol.

3 Lease some SP.

This one I haven't tried yet, I was planning on doing it but I got some extra SP now so I won't do it yet. But you can do it if you need it! You need it because you won't be able to do anything on your account during peak hours if you don't have enough SP. How will you earn Steem Dollars (SBD) if you can't do anything right?

One of the sites you can use to lease SP is @minnowbooster.

image.png

(Source)

Read how to use minnowbooster here. They have a new post on how to use it. If you want a link directly on how to lease SP, go here. I have a minnowbooster account but I haven't gotten around to using it that much so best to read the how to's on their page.

Another way is to use @blocktrades. I haven't tried this yet but I think it's another good way to get some SP. There's a tutorial on how to do it 12 days ago. You can buy delegation thru blocktrades but it looks like it just closed a day after they posted about leasing. Lol. You can pre-order if you'd like.

Maybe I will try doing this later on or maybe I will just keep powering up. Anyway that's it folks!


There you have it, the 3 Tips for getting more SP and avoiding the annoying bandwidth limit. Extra tip: use the site during off peak hours.

There are a lot more tips but you can find out about it soon enough. šŸ˜‰ Have other tips to share? Let us know in the comments!

XOXO,
@artgirl

IMG_20180216_065807_20180216070540108.jpg



All images are copyright of their respective owners except otherwise indicated as mine.

All rights reserved.
Written by @artgirl for Steemit.
Ā© Art x Stephanie Rue



For more of my Steemit newbie tips within the 7 day period since posting this, do check below:


ā™£ The Most Important Steemit Cash out Tip for Newbies + My 3rd cash out

ā™„ 5 Things I Learned on Steemit That Can Help Fellow Newbies

ā™¦ Being Curated on Steemit is An Awesome Experience!

For my art and other posts, feel free to check my blog page.

Enjoy!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
19 Comments
Ecency