ALAS! HER GRACE WILL COME UNSEEN

I am Nigerian before I am too black and young
I was raised to see her strong heart on point
I speak of her pride and mourn of her willed past
Knowing these flames will soon begun in the dark.
Through the Cross Rivers and Niger Falls and greens
Though loudest rolling drums and flags in the winds
I hope and trust in more than a good life that will come
Equally for all generations with faces like hers unborn.
Though her looks in the seas may dent the stars
And some may think her name negates some omens so bad
Lofty heights and justice will someday, somewhere sprout
Before we pledge afar and peaceful grace and light are out;
And goodness will come than black oil and wars
More than lies, greed or my dreams, her tongues and calls.nigeria.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now