Building My 1st PC- Step 5 A Small Change Leads To Better Performance

Who would have guessed that one little change can have such a drastic performance improvement? I removed the fan at the top and moved it over to be an intake fan over on the front.

While @foxon told me it was unnecessary, I decided to go for it and WOW I was surprised by its improvement. While it didn't really change any FPS gains, the GPU thermals have much improved. While playing Batman Arkham Origins, my temperature never exceeded 60 C. I had reached 70+ in the past, but not anymore, even on more intense scenes. It was quite amazing to see better thermal performance from the GPU and I never expected such and improvement.

I monitor the temp with the RAM's RGB as I've said in the past and I have not been able to hit red(70+) since I've moved the fan. And I started playing an even more intensive game at a higher settings, Watch Dogs 2 at Very High settings. The performance is amazing and I understand why people love PCs and PC gaming now. This is the first time that I've been able to have quite a long gaming session(though I did stop every 45ish minutes for 15ish minutes).

Screen Shot 20201121 at 11.41.12 PM.png

The white RAM looks soooo good :). I want to get 2 more soon.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
6 Comments
Ecency