I Paint Plastic Toy Soldiers!#13

I have no idea when and why I changed the name to this type of blogs to Painting Miniatures but I  very much prefer this one.. It was a joke we used to have with the group I was playing, that isn't really a joke. 


As for today's post - This is a Carnosaur from Warhammer Fantasy Lizardmen army. It is one of the projects I haven't really finished yet. It does have a rider on top which I've already painted but I still need to finish the "saddle" (little stone construct with big horns on the sides and some ornaments), touch the base a little bit and the Carnosaur himself.. I don't know why I rushed with this one so much and used an old technique I used often to speed paint my commissions. Anyways here it is:

Teh Mighty Carnosaur


I really want to make the base a lot more jungly. Bought so many different terrarium synthetic plants to fill a whole drawer. I need to paint over them a bit though so they look more natural than what they do now. They are pretty shiny and it really shows they are plastic. I do have another big dinosaur to finish up that I bought off Ebay some time ago. I am planing play a lot more with the base making a custom one with a waterfall or something.. will definitely post the process once I get on that one. 

As for techniques I used here - it is the technique I've talked about quite a lot in my posts from before - over-spraying with a second colour over the black and then adding value colours to highlight. After this I glaze the surface with the main colour to create the transitions. Finally I come back to give final touches and highlights whenever needed and smooth some of the transitions if they are too rough. I still need to work on the contrast a bit and make some places pop up more. 

 

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
11 Comments
Ecency