Failed hike and over night camp at Kaniwhaniwha

I camped again at Kaniwhaniwha - this time by myself. My previous camp is here: Two nights camping at Kaniwhaniwha. The plan was to hike in, setup camp, then take a day pack and hike to the tallest kahikatea tree, stay over night and hike back Sunday morning. It did not go according to plan. I would also be trying out water purification tablets and dehydrated meals for the first time.
The weather forecast was for scattered showers with an overnight lows of 9°C (48°F).

Loadout

My load out was very close to that from my last camp out. I added a Slumber Jack Pursuit vest/pack which wears under my regular pack. I left behind my various bits and pieces - including my 10ml bottle of peppermint oil. Snacks and emergency supplies went into the Pursuit pack. I added a closed cell foam mat to make sleep more comfortable and took a fleece liner. I didn't take a sleeping bag - instead opting for 4 woobies (poncho liners) tied together to form a thick quilt. I've slept under that setup wearing less clothing in far colder weather.

Same pack setup as before with mat added. The 4 woobies are in a compression sack strapped to the bottom of the pack.

Pursuit vest pack with snacks, Multitool, head lamp and water purification tablets. The pink carbineer attaches the water bottle.

The back of the pack is small, but handy. In went a Merino wool head over, a bright yellow Mountain Safety Council bag, Paracord, and a poncho.

The load out was 17kg (37.5 lbs) - no problem since the track in was easy and most of the load would be left at camp. What's a couple of kilos more for a more comfortable sleep.

Hike in and Camp setup

The hike in was uneventful. About 45mins along the vehicle access track I arrived at camp around 11:45am and setup camp.

I had the whole site to myself, so I decided to setup here, where the 3 brothers camped last time. More exposed to wind, but also better morning sun.

During setup I had visual disturbances: out of the corner of my eyes bins would seem like people until I looked directly at them. This is a sign of fatigue and sometimes a pre-migraine warning. I promised myself an early night.

Ah yes, the claustrophobia coffin, I mean tent. Setup was done and a cold lunch had by 12:30pm.

Failed hike

I started to hike to the largest kahikatea tree.

From the campsite, this is 4km (2.5 miles) and should take about two hours. I set a turn around time of 2:30pm which should get me back to camp well before the 5pm sun down. Turn around times are a good safety precaution.

The track was undulating and very wet. One common obstacle were mud holes.

A local trick is to put a dead fern branch over the mud and walk quickly along the centre stem. A bit like snow shoes - you don't sink in so far. Still, I did get mud up to my mid calves.

Another prominent track feature were tree root stairs. This one was beautiful and easy. Most had terribly tall steps with mud holes on each step. There were plenty of marks where others had slipped. My knee is not good so I had to be especially careful.

A rare opening looking across the gully.

I was too slow, the track too poor and my knee had taken a bit of punishment. It was around 1:45pm I decided it was best to turn back. The Maps App reckons I was only half of the way. One young couple I met on my way back didn't have a headlamp so I lent them mine. I made good time getting back to the campsite just around 3pm. The young couple ended up turning back too.

Evening and hike out

I got some water from the stream and popped in a purification tablet. After waiting 30 mins the water was ready to drink. It tasted a bit funny.
I tried to get a fire going, but passing showers made it difficult. Recent wind had bought down a lot of small branches but everything was too wet. I wasn't originally planning on having a fire so wasn't all that prepared.
I gave up on the fire and had a dehydrated meal. I think I went to bed around 5:30pm and watched some videos on my phone. I was pretty tired.
I dozed in and out of sleep and woke up feeling shivering cold, then hot then cold. I had a huge migraine and felt very nautious. Drinking the purified water made me feel worse. I could not think straight to assess my situation. Would I get worse or better? My condition now was okay for a night hike home but if I got worse than who knows if I would have the strength for the hike out. I had one dose of pain relief, but my main migraine treatment is peppermint oil - which I'd left behind. Even if I took the pain relief then what happened when it wears off. I chewed some Manuka leaves to help with the nausea. The leaves are astringent and sometimes used to make tea. I couldn't decide and indecision is a killer. So, the default decision is to do the safest thing and crucially this is planned beforehand to reduce cognitive load when under less than ideal circumstances.

So, I shoved whatever I could fit into my pack, dressed up warm, zipped up the tent and hiked out in the darkness. I played music on my phone to keep me motivated and my mind off the migraine. I used my headlamp even though I could walk that track in the dark and the moon was bright - maximum safety. I kept a steady speed so as to minimize my need for water. I'd drink if I had to, but yeah maybe the purified water was a problem.
One highlight was seeing the glowing eyes of an owl flying towards me. At first I had no idea what it was until I got close to the tree it perched in. I got stood there looking at him for a minute or two.
After hiking back to my car and driving into the city, I went to the first open gas station. I demolished 1000 calories of food, drank a litre of bottled water and had some paracetamol. Like many Kiwis, I consider a meat pie an effective anti-nausea treatment.
I got home around 9:30pm having hiked 17km (10.5 miles) that day - which is about twice as much as I thought my legs could do.

Hike back to collect gear

I felt a bit better the next day - at least well enough to collect the rest of my gear. An older couple in the car park told me they saw my tent still up at the campsite.

Can't say I was happy to be out walking. I did get to see a Tui bird though. The Tui is slightly left of centre if you zoom in. A passing kid thought it strange I was chewing Manuka leaves and I reaked of mint oil.

Here's my tent just as I'm starting to unpack. The white dots in the air are rain drops catching the sunlight. My poncho is covering my pack from the passing sun showers while I shove things in.

I didn't bother with the compression sack for the poncho liners - they got stuffed straight into the main body of the pack. The foam mat and inflatable mat were rolled together and wrapped in the tent fly. This was strapped to the bottom of the pack. Time to hike back.

A passer by helped me take this picture. The poncho covers the pack and I both.

Lessons learned

Get used to water purification tablets. Yeah, they make you feel sick (I tried again) but they have their advantages.
PSK might need: water purification tablets, fire starters (tinder), more pain relief and mint oil.
If I have pre-migraine warnings, don't over exert myself by dragging my fat body on a hike.
I need more practise at fire lighting in poor conditions.
Mint oil does not get left behind.
I hate my tent.

Bonus

The day was full of sun showers and rainbows. I stopped to take a picture of this one because of how it frames the dark and light parts of the sky.

Despite everything, I still enjoyed my hike and camp. I know I can make good and safe decisions and I can feel my body getting stronger and more able. Better luck next camp.

!steemitworldmap -37.9384224 lat 175.07480079 long Kaniwhaniwha Campsite area d3scr

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
17 Comments
Ecency