Calligraphy & Drawing: Reflection on Art

y2d95g.jpg

The wonderful and interesting idea to draw picture of fountain pen with help of fountain pen might sound novel to many people. However, it had been circulating in my mind since long. That's why I made an attempt to do it today. I was terribly worn out after morning walk and I wanted to take some rest. When I entered my room, I placed my mobile and smartwatch on table and moved towards bed. However, I saw my blue fountain pen with blue ink and suddenly I had an epiphany to make an attempt and draw fountain pen picture with help of fountain pen. I knew it will take effort and time but I had been yearning for realization of idea.

py6aco.jpg

For now, it's simple one but I have decided to make drawings of many well- known fountain pens. The interesting thing about this attempt is that I did not only draw picture with fountain pen but also colored it with ink. However, to make rough sketch I used pencil in the beginning.

Requirements

  1. Rhodia Paper or thick plain paper

  2. Pencil and Pencil colors

  3. Royal Blue ink and Brilliant Red ink

  4. Fountain pens with Medium Nib

Steps I followed

Step 1
First of all, I took plain thick white paper. i28ttu.jpg

Step 2
Afterward, I drew fountain pen sketch and ink bottle with help of pencil.

lfy2xw.jpg

Step 3
Next, I used fountain pen to draw borders of sketch.

ahqxeg.jpg

Step 4
Then I filled my three fountain pens with blue , red and Turquiose ink. I applied red to the nib of the fountain pen. I know it sounds bit usual to have red color on nib but I just did to make picture more vibrant . I waited for few minutes so that the ink could dry well and it doesn't create any smudge or spread after painting it with ink.

nt58tm.jpg

Step 5
Likewise, I finished applying ink to bottle in picture . I used pencil colors to clip of pen and glass of bottle

yotva0.jpg

Finishing and Quote

Last but not least , I wrote beautiful verse from Holy Quran where the Creator of Universe mentioned the word "pen".

oip8tq.jpg

Reflection

oip8tq.jpg

My love for calligraphy and fountain pens developed two years ago when I read the history of fountain pens. And why should not one love pens when so many treaties were inked and Novels were penned. Writers have written books and expressed their thoughts. Similarly, letters were written to kith and kin . Soldiers sent letters to their loved ones in wars. Yes, I consider these words absolutely true that* “pen is mightier than the sword.”* When I take this perspective in my mind, I consider pen mightier than anything else.

But is it rational to learn calligraphy when I know I am not good at doing it? Perhaps, yes! Sometimes we should do things even if we are not best at doing it. Every art takes time to master it but this is how we understand blessings and learn the concept of self esteem. Will Durant said, "Art exists not merely to express but to transmit an emotion, an inspiration or an idea". For this reason, when new arts are being born then why not to acknowledge it and try it. Margaret Atwood has rightly said, "A word after a word after a word is power." One only needs to kick off and write the first words in stylized writing.

v7bwcx.jpg

I am trying my level best to produce creative art.

Constructive criticism, Suggestions, opinions and encouraging words would be highly appreciated.

If you want me to write anything for you in stylized writing, mention your name in comments.

Thank you for reading!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
1 Comment
Ecency