I made a Birthday cake for my Niece's 7th Birthday

Hello everyone, I just wanted to share my simple birthday cake that I made for my nephew's birthday last February 15. What I did in this cake was all from scratch or things that we already had in the kitchen.

I bought some flour, sugar and eggs which is basic ingredients when making a cake. Actually up to this moment, I haven't tried to bake a cake in a decent way like inside an oven. I am talking about the oven that is used to bake not just an oven for reheating food. In this cake, I baked it using steamer. Haven't you tried this method before? I didn't took a photo how I did it but the process of making my yema sauce is quite easy.

Yema is a classic filipino dessert made from egg yolks and condensed milk. I remember when I was a kid, a lady from our school used to sell yema. It is filled with nuts and it was so delicious. This trend of yema cake widen all through out this years, maybe because it is a classic flavor. So I'm gonna share some photo that I saved. (Note: It's hard to took photo of yourself while baking, it's kinda pressure lol.)

20210217_131938.jpg

All you need to do is combine the egg yolks, condensed milk, flour or cornstarch dilluted in water, pinch of salt and vanilla extract. Cook in a medium low heat with continous stirring to prevent burning until it thickens. Add some butter to add shine and allow to cool.

20210217_132037.jpg

For the cake, I don't use chiffon recipe 'cause I don't have enough eggs to use so this cake is like a little vanilla moist cake. I steamed it for around 30 minutes I guess. Not so sure:)

20210217_133440.jpg

I put the yema sauce on top and glazed it around. Then put grated cheddar cheese on top of it. I do dedication also but I failed to have a stable boiled icing. I don't have small piping bag to write it on, I just used a small plastic so it's hard to pipe it the way that I wanted. For the cupcakes, I wrote her name Gamzhy and some I ❤ U to frost all the cupcakes.

20210217_133046.jpg

Thanks for reading it ❤

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
2 Comments
Ecency